Plumber Red Seal Occupational Standard (RSOS) 2016

The Canadian Council of Directors of Apprenticeship (CCDA) recognizes this Red Seal Occupational Standard (RSOS) as the Red Seal standard for the Plumber trade.

2016 – Red Seal Occupational Standard Series

Disponible en français sous le titre : Plombier/plombière

NOC: 7251

Designation Year: 1958

RSOS Products for Download

The Plumber Red Seal Occupational Standard is developed by Canadian trade representatives. It collects information about the trade as it is practiced across Canada.

This RSOS information is combined in several ways to generate several RSOS Products, each these is based on information contained in the complete RSOS, and is geared to user needs:

Product

Purpose

Red Seal Occupational Standard - Plumber

A complete description of all trade activities, skills and knowledge. The Standard defines the trade by collecting and organizing elements together.

Red Seal Occupational Standard Poster - Plumber

Charts trade activities on a poster format.

Trade Profile - Plumber

A quick snapshot of all trade activities in the standard. It can be used to self-assess experience. It can be used to introduce a concise summary of all trade activities to those wanting to learn about the trade. It can also be used for gap analysis.

Declaration of Trade Work Experience Form - Plumber

A form that can be used by a candidate’s employer to attest to the trade experience of an employee or former employee. Results of this verification could lead to eligibility to challenge the Red Seal examination or enter into an apprenticeship program with advanced standing.

(please contact your provincial and territorial apprenticeship authority for a jurisdiction-specific product)

Red Seal Examination Preparation Guide - Plumber

This document provides a breakdown of the percentage of questions on the Red Seal exam on activities in the trade. It also describes the trade’s skill requirements. It can be used to self-assess and prepare for writing the Red Seal examination.

Curriculum Outline - Plumber

Organizes the Knowledge elements of the standard and provides recommendations for training levels. These are meant to assist in developing and delivering technical training curricula.

Logbook - Plumber

Provides a concise list of all trade activities in a logbook format for the purpose of sign-off by employer. Makes reference to the complete occupational standard for more detailed information on each sub-task. Its purpose is to help guide the on-the-job training and to track the progression of trade training. 

(please contact your provincial and territorial apprenticeship authority for a jurisdiction-specific product)

On-the-job Training Guide - Plumber

Could be a mentoring piece to complement the Curriculum outline.
Can provide journeypersons and apprentices an outline to help guide the teaching of trade skills at a level in advance of apprenticeship technical training.

(please contact your provincial and territorial apprenticeship authority for a more jurisdiction-specific product)

Essential Skills Outline - Plumber

Organizes the trade information by each essential skill. Its purpose is to facilitate the inclusion of essential skills in the development and delivery of apprenticeship technical training and to complement the learning standard. It may also be useful in developing gap training services.

Essential Skills Poster - Plumber

Charts all trade activities and their most important essential skills on a poster format to illustrate the importance of essential skills throughout the trade activities.

General Information

Description of the Plumber Trade

“Plumber” is this trade’s official Red Seal occupational title approved by the CCDA. This standard covers tasks performed by plumbers whose occupational title has been identified by some provinces and territories of Canada under the following names:

NL

NS

PE

NB

QC

ON

MB

SK

AB

BC

NT

YT

NU

Pipefitter – Plumber Specialty

        x      

Plumber

x x x x x x x x x x x x

Plumbers install, repair and maintain plumbing fixtures and systems such as water, hydronic, drain, waste and vent (DWV), low pressure steam, residential fire, chemical and irrigation. They also install specialized systems such as medical gas, process piping, compressed air, water conditioners, fuel piping, sewage and water treatment, and storage and flow equipment. Plumbers interpret drawings, refer to layouts of existing services, and review applicable codes and specifications to determine work details and procedures. They locate and mark positions for fixtures, pipe connections and sleeves, and cut openings to accommodate pipe and fittings.

Plumbers may be employed by plumbing/mechanical contractors, service companies, and maintenance departments of manufacturing, commercial, health care and educational facilities. They may also be self-employed. Plumbers install piping and equipment in residential, commercial, institutional and industrial buildings and sites.

Plumbers use a variety of tools and equipment such as hand and power tools, welding and soldering/brazing equipment, and hoisting and lifting equipment to perform the tasks in their trade. To perform some tasks or use some equipment, specific certification may be required. Plumbers work with a variety of piping materials such as copper, steel, plastic, glass, cast iron, cement, fibreglass and specialty materials. Before assembling and fitting pipe sections, tubing and fittings, the pipes must be measured, cut and bent as required. Joining pipe may be done by various means, such as threading, using mechanical joints, welding, soldering/brazing and using fastening materials and compounds. Plumbers test and commission systems to ensure proper operation. They perform scheduled, unscheduled and emergency maintenance and repair.

Safety awareness is essential for plumbers. They may work indoors or outdoors and working conditions vary from one job to another. The work of plumbers can be physically demanding. Plumbers often need to lift and carry heavy materials and equipment. While performing their duties, plumbers are also required to do considerable standing, climbing and kneeling. They may work at heights and in confined spaces. Special precautions may have to be taken when working with fluids, gases, steam and hazardous elements. Plumbers need to assess the systems and the environment to identify possible dangers.

Key attributes for people entering this trade are good mechanical, mathematical and spatial visualization skills. Plumbers also need good communication skills to communicate with co-workers and clients. Analytical/problem solving skills are required to interpret building plans, inspect piping systems and diagnose system faults and malfunctions.

This standard recognizes some similarities or overlaps with the work of gasfitters, steamfitters/pipefitters, refrigeration and air conditioning mechanics and sprinkler system installers.

With experience, plumbers act as mentors and trainers to apprentices in the trade. They may also move into other positions such as instructors, inspectors, estimators and project managers.

Essential Skills Summary

Essential skills are needed for work, learning and life. They provide the foundation for learning all other skills and enable people to evolve with their jobs and adapt to workplace change.

Through extensive research, the Government of Canada and other national and international agencies have identified and validated nine essential skills. These skills are used in nearly every occupation and throughout daily life in different ways.

A series of CCDA-endorsed tools have been developed to support apprentices in their training and to be better prepared for a career in the trades. The tools can be used independently or with the assistance of a tradesperson, trainer, employer, teacher or mentor to:

  • understand how essential skills are used in the trades;
  • learn about individual essential skills strengths and areas for improvement; and
  • improve essential skills and increase success in an apprenticeship program.

The tools are available online or for order at: www.esdc.gc.ca/eng/jobs/les/profiles/index.shtml

The application of these skills may be described throughout this document within the skills and knowledge which support each sub-task of the trade. The most important essential skills for each sub-task have also been identified. The following are summaries of the requirements in each of the essential skills, taken from the essential skills profile. A link to the complete essential skills profile can be found at www.red‑seal.ca.

Plumbers require strong reading skills to consult installation procedures, reference manuals, safety data sheets (SDS), the National Plumbing Code (NPC) and industry standards and safety requirements when installing, repairing and maintaining plumbing fixtures and systems. They also refer to project specifications and work orders when planning a job.

Document use is important in the work of plumbers. Plumbers interpret diagrams in the NPC to ensure compliance with regulatory standards. They interpret schematics and working drawings when planning the installation of piping systems. Plumbers read assembly drawings to install fixtures and appliances. They prepare sketches and drawings to plan a job.

Writing skills are used by plumbers to perform tasks such as writing lists of materials required for a job, completing order forms to request materials, and keeping daily logs to track work status and reminders. When required, they must write incident or accident reports. They may be required to communicate in writing to other trade professionals such as engineers and architects.

Plumbers require good oral communication skills to interact with colleagues, apprentices, supervisors, suppliers, inspectors, clients and other tradespersons when co-ordinating work, resolving problems and ensuring safety.

Plumbers work in both imperial and metric systems of measurement. They locate and mark positions for pipe connections. They perform a variety of calculations such as offsets, drain line fall, hydraulic load, and temperature and pressure calculations depending on the type of piping system being installed. Plumbers estimate materials and supplies needed to complete a project. They may estimate labour requirements and prepare quotations and invoices.

Plumbers diagnose and solve problems. They decide on work priorities and plan and organize their work accordingly. Plumbers may determine the most cost effective way to use materials and supplies when installing plumbing and heating systems.

During the course of a work day, plumbers must interact with others such as co-workers, suppliers, clients and other trades.

Plumbers use computers and other digital devices more commonly as sources of resource information, communication and cost reporting. Computers are also used as a tool for design, layout, research, system diagnosis and estimating.

Changes to the NPC periodically modify procedures and methods for the design and installation of piping systems. Advances in technology are also changing the design, applications and materials of systems. There is an increased emphasis on worker health and safety. All these changes mean that related training and certification is often mandatory for both apprentices and journeypersons.

Trends in the Plumber Trade

Technology

With advances in plumbing and related systems, plumbers are increasingly required to upgrade their skills to stay current or specialize in different aspects of the trade. Updates to the NPC are resulting in an increased emphasis on health and safety, environmental protection, and efficient plumbing systems.

Technological advances are influencing the design for water supply, DWV, gas fitting, and hydronic heating/cooling systems. New technologies are affecting the design of piping systems and creating opportunities for the use of integrated plumbing systems in construction. Various digital technologies and software applications are now being used as a more relevant source for communication and resource information such as estimating, cost reporting, design, layout, system diagnosis and documentation. The use of embedment scanners, recording media devices and global positioning system (GPS) devices are becoming more common.

Environment

Industry has become conscious of energy usage and efficiency of equipment and systems, resulting in a higher expectation from building owners and clients to meet the standards of programs such as Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design (LEED) and Energy Star. Plumbers must be more aware of the impact the trade has on the environment, the emerging requirements of these programs and the specific site requirements that are critical to projects. Many buildings are being built to standards that require new products and systems. This may include systems such as rainwater harvesting, grey water, solar thermal, geothermal, heat recovery and biomass.

Industry Expected Performance

All tasks must be performed according to the applicable jurisdictional codes and standards. All health and safety standards must be respected and observed. Work should be done efficiently and at a high quality without material waste or environmental damage. All requirements of the manufacturer, client specifications, the NPC and AHJ must be met. At a journeyperson level of performance, all tasks must be done with minimal direction and supervision. As a journeyperson progresses in their career there is an expectation they continue to upgrade their skills and knowledge to keep pace with industry and promote continuous learning in their trade through mentoring of apprentices.

Language Requirements

It is expected that journeypersons are able to understand and communicate in either English or French, which are Canada’s official languages. English or French are the common languages of business as well as languages of instruction in apprenticeship programs.

Acknowledgements

The CCDA and ESDC wish to express sincere appreciation for the contribution of the many tradespersons, industrial establishments, professional associations, labour organizations, provincial and territorial government departments and agencies, and all others who contributed to this publication.

Acknowledgement is extended by ESDC and the CCDA to the United Association of Journeymen and Apprentices of the Plumbing and Pipe Fitting Industry and the Mechanical Contractors Association of Canada for their contributions to the development of this standard.

Special thanks are offered to the following representatives who contributed greatly to the original draft of the standard and provided expert advice throughout its development:

  • Jarrod Brown - Nova Scotia
  • Adam Dodd - British Columbia
  • Scott Giesbrecht - Alberta
  • Michael Gordon - Ontario
  • Tim Groenendyk - Saskatchewan
  • Rick Guilbault - Manitoba
  • Tim Hayward - Newfoundland and Labrador
  • Blair Howes - Alberta
  • Mark MacAdam - Prince Edward Island
  • Justin MacDonald - New Brunswick
  • Andy O’Hearn - New Brunswick
  • Richard Player - Prince Edward Island
  • Renault Sage - Nunavut
  • Marco Silvestri - Manitoba
  • Ryan Skinner - Nova Scotia
  • Claudio Spanuolo - Ontario

This standard was prepared by the Labour Market Integration Directorate of ESDC. Its coordination, facilitation and processing was undertaken by employees of the standards development team of the Trades and Apprenticeship Division. The host jurisdiction of Alberta also participated in the development of this standard.

Date modified:

Plombier/plombière norme professionnelle du sceau rouge

Le Conseil canadien des directeurs de l’apprentissage (CCDA) reconnaît la présente Norme professionnelle du Sceau rouge (NPSR) comme la norme du Sceau rouge pour le métier de plombier/plombière.

Série d'analyses de professions

Available in English under the title: Plumber

CNP : 7251

Année de désignation : 1958

NPSR produits pour télécharger

La norme professionnelle du Sceau rouge pour le métier de plombier/plombière est développée par des représentants de métier canadiens. Ce document recueille l’information sur ce métier tel que celui-ci est pratiqué au Canada.

L’information NPSR est assemblée de plusieurs façons afin de générer plusieurs produits NPSR; chacun de ces produits est basé sur l’information contenue dans la NPSR complète et est destiné aux besoins des utilisateurs.

Produit

Objectif

Norme professionnelle du Sceau rouge - Plombier/plombière

Offrir une description complète de toutes les activités effectuées dans le métier et de toutes les compétences et connaissances nécessaires pour exercer ce métier. La norme définit le métier en regroupant et en organisant les éléments.

Affiche de la Norme professionnelle du Sceau rouge - Plombier/plombière

Présenter les activités du métier sous forme de tableau.

Profil du métier- Plombier/plombière

Présenter un aperçu de toutes les activités effectuées dans le métier décrites dans la norme. Le profil du métier peut être utilisé pour autoévaluer l'expérience acquise, pour présenter un sommaire de toutes les activités effectuées dans le métier aux gens qui veulent apprendre ce métier et pour l'analyse des lacunes.

Plan du programme de formation - Plombier/plombière

Organiser les éléments de la section « Connaissances » de la norme et présenter des recommandations quant aux niveaux de formation. Ces éléments ont pour but de faciliter l'élaboration et la prestation des programmes de formation technique.

Guide d’auto-évaluation pour l’examen du Sceau rouge – Plombier/plombière (PDF, 811 Ko) Utilisez l’outil d’auto-évaluation pour évaluer votre propre compréhension et votre expérience pour les tâches qui font parties de l’examen du Sceau rouge.

Information générale

Description du métier de plombier/plombière

« Plombier/plombière » est le titre officiel Sceau rouge de ce métier tel qu’il a été accepté par le CCDA. La présente norme couvre les tâches exécutées par les plombiers et les plombières dont le titre professionnel est connu dans certaines provinces et dans certains territoires sous les noms suivants :

NL

NS

PE

NB

QC

ON

MB

SK

AB

BC

NT

YT

NU

Plombier

      x   x    

Plombier ou plombière

  x    

Tuyauteur-plombier/tuyauteuse-plombière

  x          

Les plombiers et les plombières installent, réparent et entretiennent les appareils sanitaires et les tuyauteries comme les tuyauteries de distribution d’eau, les tuyauteries pour les systèmes hydroniques, les tuyauteries d’évacuation et de ventilation (DWV), les tuyauteries pour les systèmes à vapeur basse pression, les tuyauteries résidentielles de protection contre les incendies, les tuyauteries de circulation de produits chimiques et les tuyauteries pour les systèmes d’irrigation. Ils peuvent aussi installer des tuyauteries spéciales comme des tuyauteries d’alimentation en gaz médicaux, des tuyauteries industrielles, des tuyauteries à air comprimé, des adoucisseurs d’eau, des tuyauteries pour combustibles, des tuyauteries pour les systèmes de traitement d’eau et des eaux usées et des tuyauteries de filtration et d’entreposage. Les plombiers et les plombières interprètent les dessins, se réfèrent aux tracés des services existants et consultent les codes et les spécifications afin de déterminer les particularités des travaux à exécuter et des marches à suivre. Ils repèrent et marquent l’emplacement des appareils sanitaires, des raccords de tuyauterie et des manchons et ils coupent des ouvertures pour les tuyaux et les raccords.

Les plombiers et les plombières travaillent pour des entrepreneurs en plomberie et en installations mécaniques, pour des compagnies d’entretien en plomberie et pour des services d’entretien d’installations de fabrication, d’installations commerciales et d’établissements de santé et d’enseignement. Ils peuvent aussi travailler à leur compte. Ils installent les tuyauteries et l’équipement dans les bâtiments résidentiels, commerciaux, institutionnels et industriels et sur les chantiers.

Les plombiers et les plombières utilisent une variété d’outils et d’équipement, y compris des outils manuels et des outils mécaniques, de l’équipement de soudure, de brasage tendre et de brasage fort et de l’équipement de levage, pour accomplir les tâches du métier. Un certificat peut être nécessaire pour accomplir certaines tâches ou pour utiliser l’équipement nécessaire pour les accomplir. Ils travaillent avec une variété de matériaux de tuyauterie comme le cuivre, l’acier, le plastique, le verre, la fonte, le ciment, la fibre de verre et les matériaux spéciaux. Avant d’assembler et de raccorder les sections de tuyaux, les tubes et les raccords, ils doivent mesurer, couper et cintrer les tuyaux convenablement. Le raccordement des tuyaux peut être effectué par divers moyens comme le filetage, l’utilisation de raccords mécaniques, le soudage, le brasage tendre, le brasage fort et l’utilisation de matériel de fixation et de produits d’étanchéité. Les plombiers et les plombières mettent les systèmes et les tuyauteries à l’essai pour s’assurer qu’ils fonctionnent bien et mettent en service ces systèmes. Ils effectuent des réparations et des tâches d’entretien planifiées, non planifiées ou urgentes.

Il est essentiel que les plombiers et les plombières soient sensibilisés à la sécurité. Ils peuvent travailler à l’intérieur ou à l’extérieur et les conditions de travail varient d’un lieu de travail à un autre. Leur travail peut également être physiquement exigeant, puisqu’ils doivent souvent soulever et transporter du matériel et de l’équipement lourds. De plus, ils doivent souvent se tenir debout, grimper et s’agenouiller. Ils peuvent avoir à travailler en hauteur et dans les espaces clos. Lorsqu’ils travaillent en présence de fluides, de gaz, de vapeur et d’éléments dangereux, ils doivent prendre les précautions qui s’imposent. Les plombiers et les plombières doivent évaluer les systèmes et l’environnement dans lequel ils se trouvent pour déterminer les risques potentiels.

De bonnes compétences en mécanique et en mathématique et une bonne perception spatiale font partie des principales qualités que doivent posséder les gens qui commencent dans ce métier. Les plombiers et les plombières doivent aussi avoir de bonnes compétences en communication pour communiquer avec les collègues et les clients. De bonnes compétences analytiques et en résolution de problèmes sont requises pour interpréter les dessins de bâtiments, inspecter les tuyauteries et établir la cause des défectuosités ou du mauvais fonctionnement des systèmes.

La présente norme reconnaît les similarités ou les chevauchements avec les tâches des monteurs et des monteuses d’installations au gaz, des monteurs et des monteuses d’appareils de chauffage, des mécaniciens et des mécaniciennes de réfrigération et d’air conditionné et des mécaniciens et des mécaniciennes en protection incendie.

Au fur et à mesure qu’ils acquièrent de l’expérience, les plombiers et les plombières peuvent être amenés à agir à titre de mentors et de formateurs auprès des apprentis du métier. Ils peuvent également être promus à d’autres postes comme des postes d’instructeurs, d’inspecteurs, d’évaluateurs et de chargés de projet.

Sommaire des compétences essentielles

Les compétences essentielles sont les compétences nécessaires au travail, à l’apprentissage et dans la vie. Elles sont à la base de l’apprentissage de toutes les autres compétences et permettent aux gens d’évoluer avec leur emploi et de s’adapter aux changements du milieu du travail.

Grâce à des recherches approfondies, le gouvernement du Canada et d’autres organismes nationaux et internationaux ont déterminé et validé neuf compétences essentielles. Ces compétences sont mises en application sous diverses formes dans presque tous les métiers et dans la vie quotidienne.

Une série d’outils approuvés par le CCDA ont été élaborés pour aider les apprentis à suivre leur formation et à être mieux préparés pour leur carrière dans les métiers. Les outils peuvent être utilisés avec ou sans l’assistance d’une personne de métier, d’un formateur, d’un employeur, d’un enseignant ou d’un moniteur pour :

  • comprendre comment les compétences essentielles sont utilisées dans le métier;
  • déterminer les forces en matière de compétences essentielles et les aspects à améliorer;
  • améliorer les compétences essentielles et les chances de réussir un programme d’apprentissage.

Les outils sont disponibles en ligne au www.edsc.gc.ca/fra/emplois/ace/profils/index.shtml , où il est aussi possible de les commander.

Le présent document peut renfermer une description de la mise en pratique de ces compétences à l’intérieur des énoncés de compétences accompagnant chaque sous-tâche du métier. Les compétences essentielles les plus importantes pour chaque sous-tâche ont également été définies. Un aperçu des exigences pour chaque compétence essentielle tiré des profils des compétences essentielles suit.

Les plombiers et les plombières doivent avoir de bonnes compétences en lecture pour être en mesure de comprendre les procédés d’installation, les manuels de référence, les fiches de données de sécurité, le CNP et les normes et les exigences de sécurité de l’industrie lorsqu’ils doivent installer, réparer et entretenir des appareils sanitaires et des systèmes. Ils doivent également se reporter au cahier des charges et aux bons de travail lorsqu’ils planifient des travaux.

L’utilisation de documents est importante dans le travail des plombiers et des plombières. L’interprétation des schémas qui se trouvent dans le CNP afin d’assurer l’application des normes réglementaires fait partie de leur travail. Ils doivent également interpréter les schémas et les dessins d’exécution lorsqu’ils planifient l’installation des tuyauteries. Ils doivent lire les plans d’assemblage pour installer les appareils sanitaires et d’autres appareils. Ils doivent faire des croquis et des dessins pour planifier les travaux.

Les plombiers et les plombières doivent utiliser leurs compétences en rédaction pour accomplir certaines tâches, comme préparer la liste du matériel nécessaire aux travaux, remplir les bons de commande pour l’achat du matériel et tenir le journal quotidien de suivi des travaux et des rappels. Lorsque cela est nécessaire, ils doivent rédiger des rapports d’incident ou d’accident. Ils peuvent avoir à communiquer à l’écrit avec d’autres corps de métiers comme les ingénieurs et les architectes.

Les compétences en communication des plombiers et des plombières sont importantes pour communiquer avec les collègues, les apprentis, les superviseurs, les inspecteurs, les fournisseurs, les clients et les membres d’autres corps de métiers pour coordonner les travaux, résoudre des problèmes et assurer la sécurité.

Les plombiers et les plombières utilisent les systèmes métrique et impérial. Ils doivent repérer et marquer l’emplacement des raccords de tuyauterie. Ils doivent effectuer une variété de calculs, comme les calculs relatifs aux déviations, à la dénivellation des tuyaux d’évacuation, à la charge hydraulique ainsi qu’à la température et à la pression, en fonction du type de tuyauterie à installer. Ils doivent aussi calculer la quantité de matériaux et de fournitures nécessaires pour achever un projet. Ils peuvent également estimer les besoins de main-d’œuvre et préparer des propositions de prix et des factures.

Les plombiers et les plombières doivent être en mesure de cerner et de résoudre les problèmes. Ils doivent établir l’ordre de priorité des travaux et planifier et organiser leur travail selon les priorités établies. Ils doivent également déterminer la façon la plus rentable d’utiliser les matériaux et les fournitures lors de l’installation de la plomberie et des systèmes de chauffage.

Durant une journée de travail, les plombiers et les plombières doivent interagir avec plusieurs personnes, dont les collègues, les fournisseurs, les clients et les membres d’autres corps de métiers.

Les plombiers et les plombières se servent de plus en plus des ordinateurs pour obtenir de l’information sur les ressources les plus utilisées et comme mode de communication ou comme outil pour produire les rapports sur les coûts. Les ordinateurs servent également d’outil pour la conception, la planification, la recherche, l’analyse des défaillances des systèmes et les estimations.

Les changements apportés régulièrement au CNP modifient les marches à suivre et les méthodes utilisées pour concevoir et installer des tuyauteries. Les progrès technologiques entraînent également des changements quant à la conception, aux applications et aux matériaux des tuyauteries. De plus, l’accent est davantage mis sur la santé et la sécurité des travailleurs. Tous ces changements signifient que les apprentis et les compagnons sont tenus de suivre les formations appropriées et d’obtenir les certificats nécessaires.

Tendances du métier plombier/plombière

Technologie

Les progrès dans le domaine de la plomberie et des systèmes connexes exigent des plombiers et des plombières qu’ils actualisent leurs compétences ou qu’ils se spécialisent dans certains aspects du métier. Les mises à jour apportées au CNP font en sorte qu’une plus grande attention est accordée à la santé, à la sécurité, à la protection de l’environnement et à la fiabilité et à l’efficacité des installations de plomberie.

L’évolution de la technologie influence la conception des réseaux d’alimentation en eau, des réseaux d’évacuation et de ventilation (DWV), des raccords pour le gaz, des systèmes de chauffage à eau chaude et des systèmes de refroidissement. Les nouvelles technologies entraînent des changements quant à la conception des tuyauteries et créent des possibilités d’utilisation des installations de plomberie intégrées dans le domaine de la construction. Diverses technologies numériques et applications logicielles sont maintenant utilisées comme une source plus pertinente pour la communication et l’information sur les ressources comme les estimations, les rapports sur les coûts, la conception, la disposition, les diagnostics de défaillances des systèmes et les documents. L’utilisation de scanneurs pour composants enfouis, de dispositifs d’enregistrement et de systèmes de localisation GPS devient de plus en plus courante.

Environnement

Les travailleurs de l’industrie de la plomberie sont maintenant conscients de l’importance de la consommation d’énergie et de l’efficacité de l’équipement et des systèmes, ce qui entraîne une plus grande attente en ce qui concerne le respect des normes de programmes, comme le Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design (LEED) et Energy Star, de la part des propriétaires de bâtiment et des clients. Les plombiers et les plombières doivent désormais mieux connaître l’impact environnemental du métier, les nouvelles exigences de ces programmes et les particularités des chantiers qui sont d’une importance capitale pour la réalisation des projets. De nombreux bâtiments sont construits selon des normes qui exigent de nouveaux produits et systèmes, comme les systèmes de collecte des eaux de pluie, les systèmes de traitement des eaux grises, les capteurs solaires thermiques, les systèmes géothermiques, les systèmes de récupération de chaleur et les systèmes de chauffage à la biomasse.

Niveau de performance auquel s’attend l’industrie

Les tâches doivent être effectuées conformément aux normes et aux codes provinciaux et territoriaux qui s’appliquent. Toutes les normes de santé et de sécurité doivent être respectées. Le travail devrait être effectué efficacement et être de grande qualité, sans gaspillage de matériaux ou dommages causés à l’environnement. Toutes les exigences du fabricant, toutes les spécifications du client et toutes les exigences du CNP et de l’autorité compétente doivent être satisfaites.

Au niveau de performance d’un compagnon d’apprentissage, toutes les tâches doivent être exécutées avec un minimum de directives et de supervision.

Au fur et à mesure qu’un compagnon progresse dans sa carrière, il est attendu que celui-ci continue de mettre à jour ses compétences et ses connaissances pour suivre les tendances de l’industrie et promouvoir la formation continue dans son métier en agissant à titre de mentor auprès des apprentis.

Exigences linguistiques

Il est attendu que les compagnons peuvent comprendre l’anglais ou le français, qui sont les deux langues officielles du Canada, et qu’ils peuvent communiquer dans une ou l’autre de ces langues. L’anglais et le français sont les langues communes des affaires et de l’enseignement des programmes d’apprentissage.

Remerciements

Le CCDA et EDSC tiennent à exprimer leur gratitude aux gens du métier, aux entreprises, aux associations professionnelles, aux syndicats, aux ministères et organismes gouvernementaux des provinces et des territoires ainsi qu’à toute autre personne ayant participé à la production de la présente publication.

EDSC et le CCDA offrent leurs remerciements à l’Association unie des compagnons et apprentis de la plomberie et de la tuyauterie, ainsi qu’à l'Association des entrepreneurs en mécanique du Canada pour leur participation à l’élaboration de cette Norme.

Des remerciements particuliers sont adressés aux représentants ci-dessous, qui ont grandement contribué à la première ébauche de la norme et qui ont offert des conseils d’experts durant son élaboration :

  • Jarrod Brown - Nouvelle-Écosse
  • Adam Dodd - Colombie-Britannique
  • Scott Giesbrecht - Alberta
  • Michael Gordon - Ontario
  • Tim Groenendyk - Saskatchewan
  • Rick Guilbault - Manitoba
  • Tim Hayward - Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador
  • Blair Howes - Alberta
  • Mark MacAdam - Île-du-Prince-Édouard
  • Justin MacDonald - Nouveau-Brunswick
  • Andy O’Hearn - Nouveau-Brunswick
  • Richard Player - Île-du-Prince-Édouard
  • Renault Sage - Nunavut
  • Marco Silvestri - Manitoba
  • Ryan Skinner - Nouvelle-Écosse
  • Claudio Spanuolo - Ontario

La présente norme a été préparée par la Direction des partenariats en milieu de travail d’EDSC. Sa coordination, sa facilitation et sa production ont été effectuées par l’équipe responsable de l'élaboration des NPSR de la Division des métiers et de l’apprentissage et Apprentissage Nouveau Brunswick. L’Alberta, la province hôte, a également participé à l’élaboration de cette norme.

Date de modification :