Painter and Decorator National Occupational Analysis (NOA)

The Canadian Council of Directors of Apprenticeship (CCDA) recognizes this National Occupational Analysis (NOA) as the national standard for the occupation of painter and decorator.

Occupational Analyses Series

Disponible en français sous le titre : Peintre et décorateur/décoratrice

NOC: 7294

Designation Year: 1964

PDF download

Download the PDF version (565 KB) of this content.

Red Seal Exam Self-Assessment Guide – Painter and Decorator

Use this self-assessment tool (PDF, 802 KB) to rate your own understanding and experience with the tasks of the trade that are on the Red Seal examination.

General Information

Scope

“Painter and Decorator” is this trade’s official Red Seal occupational title approved by the CCDA. This analysis covers tasks performed by painters and decorators whose occupational title has been identified by some provinces and territories of Canada under the following names:

NL

NS

PE

NB

QC

ON

MB

SK

AB

BC

NT

YT

NU

Painter

x

Painter and Decorator

x

x

x

x

x

x

x

x

x

x

x

Painter and Decorator – Commercial and Residential

x

Painters and decorators apply decorative and protective finishes in residential, commercial, institutional and industrial settings. They prepare a variety of surfaces (wood, masonry, drywall, plaster, concrete, synthetics, stucco and metal) prior to the application of materials such as paint, high performance coatings, waterproofing, fireproofing, varnish, shellac, wall coverings and specialty finishes. These materials are applied for a variety of reasons such as protection, decoration, sanitation, identification and safety.

Painters and decorators are employed by construction companies, painting contractors or building maintenance contractors, or they are self-employed. They work on residential, commercial, institutional and industrial projects. Some painters and decorators may work for years on a single site; others may work for contractors that rarely work on the same site more than once.

Painters and decorators may come in contact with hazardous materials such as isocyanates, free silica, lead, volatile organic compounds (VOC) and at times, carcinogenic materials. They may work with some physical discomfort when preparing surfaces or applying coatings in awkward positions. Painters and decorators may work indoors and outdoors. They also may risk injury from falling off access equipment such as ladders, platforms, scaffolds and swing stages.

Key attributes for people entering this trade are manual dexterity, excellent colour perception and artistic aptitude. The work often requires considerable standing, kneeling and repetitive activities such as brushing, rolling, spraying and blasting. Painters and decorators must have an eye for detail, the ability to plan work, and knowledge of many types of finishes, their properties and their applications. They must be able to calculate areas and relate such calculations to required material. Good communication and customer service skills are required by painters and decorators who often interact with home/business owners, contractors, interior designers, architects and engineers. Experienced painters and decorators may advance to supervisory positions for painting contractors or in other related fields such as construction management, instructing, estimating or building inspection.

Occupational Observations

Manufacturers are continually making changes to their products to make them more environmentally friendly. Organic paints and non‑caustic cleaners that are solvent-free and VOC-free are becoming increasingly popular as their performance continues to improve.

Safety and environmental concerns have also led manufacturers to make substantial changes to equipment used. For example, infrared heat equipment is increasingly being used instead of hazardous chemicals for removing paint and varnish. The infrared technology allows paint or varnish to be scraped off and disposed of easily while preventing the release of harmful gases.

Increased urban development has resulted in many homes and businesses being closer to sources of high-frequency electromagnetic radiation such as telecommunication antennae and other similar sources of radiation. Electromagnet shielding paints are increasingly incorporated in the construction of new buildings or added to existing ones to reduce the exposure of a building’s occupants to these radiations and therefore help mitigate their potential adverse health effects.

Intumescent coatings are increasingly being used on steel columns that must be fire‑proofed by code. These coatings allow architectural design to be maintained while providing benefits such as a significantly reduced total system thickness, durability, aesthetics and good adhesion. They can also be top-coated to match surroundings.

Due to increasingly stringent environmental controls, the move away from oil-based products will continue thereby making it healthier for painters and better for the environment. The constant development of new products and technology requires ongoing learning in order to keep skills up-to-date.

Essential Skills Summary

Essential skills are needed for work, learning and life. They provide the foundation for learning all other skills and enable people to evolve with their jobs and adapt to workplace change.

Through extensive research, the Government of Canada and other national and international agencies have identified and validated nine essential skills. These skills are used in nearly every occupation and throughout daily life in different ways.

A series of CCDA-endorsed tools have been developed to support apprentices in their training and to be better prepared for a career in the trades. The tools can be used independently or with the assistance of a tradesperson, trainer, employer, teacher or mentor to:

  • understand how essential skills are used in the trades;
  • learn about individual essential skills strengths and areas for improvement; and
  • improve essential skills and increase success in an apprenticeship program.

The tools are available online or for order.

The essential skills profile for the painter and decorator trade indicates that the most important essential skills are oral communication, problem solving, and job task planning and organizing. The NOA workshop participants indicated that working with others is also very important.

The application of these skills may be described throughout this document within the competency statements which support each subtask of the trade. The following are summaries of the requirements in each of the essential skills.

Painters and decorators read a variety of safety related documentation such as Material Safety Data Sheets (MSDS) to understand the safety and personal protective equipment (PPE) requirements when using a particular material or substance, OH&S Regulations to determine correct and safe procedures to use, and hazard assessments to determine what to do in different hazardous situations. They read product data sheets to determine the proper application and use of particular materials and substances. They also read labels on equipment as well as the instructions for their use. This is important when troubleshooting, or when setting up or using a piece of equipment for the first time to ensure safe and efficient use of the equipment.

Painters and decorators interpret and refer to blueprints to determine the type of paints and coatings to be applied and to which areas. They read assembly drawings and make sketches of items to be built such as containment structures. They refer to tables or charts to determine exposure limits to different chemicals and to select appropriate PPE. They also complete time sheets and record quality control information such as batch numbers, temperatures and drying times for future reference in case problems arise.

Painters and decorators complete work orders, material lists and time sheets. They may write a list of tasks to be performed. They may also sign for materials received.

Painters and decorators estimate mix ratios and measure out quantities of paints, thinners, solvents and coatings. They estimate the amount of time, cost and material required to complete a job. They also estimate and calculate measurements such as square footage, coverage and cubic feet per minute (CFM). They calculate the weight of material that can safely be supported on swing stages and platforms. Painters and decorators also use both the metric and imperial measurement systems and therefore must be able to convert between the two systems.

Painters and decorators talk with co-workers, foremen, and other tradespeople to co-ordinate activities or to clarify procedures. They give directions to apprentices, participate in project meetings and advise customers on selection of colour schemes and choice of wall coverings. Painters and decorators performing work in an industrial setting use hand signals and/or two way radios to communicate with crane operators and other tradespeople.

Painters and decorators use problem solving skills to address issues that may arise on the job such as colour mismatch or defects in finishes, or to troubleshoot problems with equipment. They use decision making skills to decide on the types of materials and application methods to use on a job, and to determine how to approach the job. They plan the materials and equipment they need for a job and schedule tasks to meet the needs of other trades on site.

Painters and decorators usually work as part of a team that may include apprentices, other journeypersons, and supervisors although they may work alone on some specific tasks or jobs. Painters and decorators may perform supervisory functions and guide or monitor the work performance of others, including apprentices or new employees.

Painters and decorators may use the Internet to look up product and safety information. They may use computers for designing graphics, reporting work logs and matching colours.

Painters and decorators learn through on-the-job training and observation of co-workers. They may keep up on their product knowledge by talking with suppliers or reading product/equipment information pamphlets or other literature. They may attend upgrading courses when entering a new area of specialization. Painters and decorators may also attend training sessions provided by manufacturers of new or specialty products and by union training providers.

Acknowledgements

The CCDA and HRSDC wish to express sincere appreciation for the contribution of the many tradespersons, industrial establishments, professional associations, labour organizations, provincial and territorial government departments and agencies, and all others who contributed to this publication.

Special acknowledgement is extended by HRSDC and the CCDA to the following representatives from the trade.

  • Domenic DeSando - Ontario
  • Dustin Friesen - Alberta
  • Gerard Martin - Nova Scotia
  • Christopher Miller - New Brunswick
  • Joe Ott - British Columbia
  • Keith St. Croix - Newfoundland and Labrador
  • Albert Turcotte - Manitoba
  • Nathan Warnica - International Union of Painters And Allied Trades
  • Jerry White - Saskatchewan

This analysis was prepared by the Workplace Partnerships Directorate of HRSDC. The coordinating, facilitating and processing of this analysis were undertaken by employees of the NOA development team of the Trades and Apprenticeship Division. The host jurisdiction of New Brunswick also participated in the development of this NOA.

Comments or questions about NOAs may be forwarded to:

Trades and Apprenticeship Division
Labour Market Integration Directorate
Employment and Social Development Canada
140 Promenade du Portage, Phase IV, 6th Floor
Gatineau, Quebec  K1A 0J9
Email: redseal-sceaurouge@hrsdc-rhdcc.gc.ca

Date modified:

Peintre et décorateur/décoratrice - analyse nationales de profession

Le Conseil canadien des directeurs de l’apprentissage (CCDA) reconnaît la présente analyse nationale de profession (ANP) comme la norme nationale pour la profession de peintre et décorateur/décoratrice.

Série d'analyses de professions

Available in English under the title: Painter and Decorator

CNP: 7294

Année de désignation : 1964

Téléchargement PDF

Télécharger la version PDF (623 Ko) de ce contenu.

Guide d’auto-évaluation pour l’examen du Sceau rouge - Peintre et décorateur/décoratrice

Utilisez l’outil d’auto-évaluation (PDF, 883 Ko) pour évaluer votre propre compréhension et votre expérience pour les tâches qui font parties de l’examen du Sceau rouge.

Information générale

Champ de compétence du peintre et décorateur/décoratrice

« Peintre et décorateur/décoratrice » est le titre Sceau rouge officiel du métier tel qu’approuvé par le CCDA. Cette analyse couvre les tâches exécutées par des peintres et décorateurs et des peintres et décoratrices, dont le titre professionnel a été déterminé par certaines provinces et certains territoires du Canada sous les noms suivants :

NL

NS

PE

NB

QC

ON

MB

SK

AB

BC

NT

YT

NU

Peintre

x

Peintre et décorateur

x

Peintre-décorateur

x

Peintre-décorateur ou peintre-décoratrice – commercial et résidentiel

x

Les peintres et décorateurs et les peintres et décoratrices appliquent des finitions pour la protection et la décoration dans des établissements résidentiels, commerciaux, institutionnels et industriels. Ils font la préparation de différentes surfaces, comme le bois, la maçonnerie, les cloisons sèches, le plâtre, le béton, les matériaux synthétiques, le stuc et le métal, avant d’appliquer des matériaux comme la peinture, les enduits à haute résistance, les produits d’étanchéité, les produits ignifuges, le vernis, la gomme laque, les revêtements muraux et les finis spéciaux. Ces matériaux sont appliqués pour différentes raisons comme pour la protection, pour la décoration, pour des raisons sanitaires, ou à des fins de marquage et de sécurité.

Les peintres et décorateurs et les peintres et décoratrices sont embauchés par des compagnies de construction, des entrepreneurs en peinture et des entrepreneurs d’entretien d’immeubles, ou ils sont travailleurs autonomes. Ils travaillent sur des projets résidentiels, commerciaux, institutionnels et industriels. Certains peintres et décorateurs et certaines peintres et décoratrices peuvent exercer leur profession pendant plusieurs années sur un même site, alors que d’autres peuvent travailler pour des entrepreneurs qui vont rarement plus d’une fois sur le même site.

Les peintres et décorateurs et les peintres et décoratrices peuvent être en contact avec des matières dangereuses comme des isocyanates, de la silice libre, du plomb, des composés organiques volatils (COV) et, parfois, des substances cancérigènes. Ils peuvent souffrir d’un certain inconfort lors de la préparation de surfaces ou de l’application d’enduits dans des positions inhabituelles. Les peintres et décorateurs et les peintres et décoratrices peuvent travailler à l’intérieur et à l’extérieur. Ils sont exposés à des risques de chutes en utilisant l’équipement d’accès comme les échelles, les plateformes, l’échafaudage et les échafaudages volants.

Les principales qualités des personnes qui exercent ce métier sont la dextérité manuelle, une excellente aptitude pour le choix des couleurs et un sens artistique. Le travail exige que la personne reste longtemps debout et qu’elle s’agenouille et effectue des mouvements répétitifs, tels que l’application d’un enduit au rouleau, au pinceau, au pulvérisateur et lors du décapage par projection. Les peintres et décorateurs et les peintres et décoratrices doivent avoir un souci du détail, un sens de l’organisation du travail et la connaissance de nombreux types de finis, de leurs caractéristiques et de leur mode d’application. Ils doivent savoir calculer les surfaces afin de commander le matériel requis. Une bonne communication et des compétences en service à la clientèle sont demandées de la part des peintres et décorateurs et des peintres et décoratrices qui interagissent souvent avec les propriétaires de maisons et d’entreprises, les entrepreneurs, les designers d'intérieurs, les architectes et les ingénieurs.

Les peintres et décorateurs et les peintres et décoratrices d’expérience peuvent accéder à des postes de supervision pour le compte d’entrepreneurs en peinture et dans des domaines connexes comme la gestion de construction, l’enseignement, la préparation de devis ou l’inspection.

Observations sur le métier

Les fabricants changent continuellement leurs produits pour les rendre plus écologiques qu’auparavant. Les peintures organiques et les nettoyants non caustiques qui ne renferment pas de solvant et de COV s’améliorent continuellement, gagnant ainsi en popularité.

La sécurité et les préoccupations environnementales ont également amené les fabricants à effectuer des modifications importantes dans l’utilisation de l’équipement. Par exemple, pour enlever la peinture et le vernis, l'équipement à chaleur infrarouge est utilisé plutôt que les produits chimiques dangereux. La technologie infrarouge permet de gratter la peinture ou le vernis facilement et de l’éliminer en évitant la libération des gaz nocifs provenant des produits chimiques lorsqu’ils sont utilisés.

L’augmentation du développement urbain a entraîné le rapprochement de nombreux foyers et de nombreuses entreprises aux sources de rayonnements électromagnétiques hautes fréquences, comme les antennes de télécommunication et d'autres sources de radiation. Les peintures blindées sont de plus en plus intégrées dans la construction de nouveaux bâtiments ou ajoutées aux bâtiments existants afin de réduire l'exposition aux radiations et, par conséquent, pour atténuer les effets néfastes sur la santé des occupants.

Les enduits intumescents sont davantage utilisés sur les colonnes d'acier qui, selon le code, doivent être à l’épreuve du feu. Ces enduits permettent de maintenir l’apparence architecturale tout en offrant des avantages tels que la réduction considérable de l’ensemble du système en matière d’épaisseur, de durabilité, d'esthétique en plus d’assurer une bonne adhérence. Ils peuvent aussi servir de recouvrement de finition qui s’harmonise aux éléments adjacents.

L'abandon des produits à base d'huile continue grâce aux contrôles environnementaux rigoureux, permettant ainsi aux peintres et décorateurs et aux peintres et décoratrices de travailler dans un environnement sain. La mise au point continuelle de nouveaux produits et de la technologie exige une formation soutenue de la part des peintres et décorateurs et des peintres et décoratrices pour que leurs compétences demeurent à jour.

Sommaire des compétences essentielles

Les compétences essentielles sont les compétences nécessaires pour vivre, pour apprendre et pour travailler. Elles sont à la base de l’apprentissage de toutes les autres compétences et permettent aux gens d’évoluer avec leur emploi et de s’adapter aux changements du milieu du travail.

Grâce à des recherches approfondies, le gouvernement du Canada et d’autres organismes nationaux et internationaux ont déterminé et validé neuf compétences essentielles. Ces compétences sont mises en application dans presque toutes les professions et dans la vie quotidienne sous diverses formes.

Une série d’outils approuvés par le CCDA ont été élaborés pour aider les apprentis à suivre leur formation et à être mieux préparés pour leur carrière dans les métiers. Les outils peuvent être utilisés avec ou sans l’assistance d’une personne de métier, d’un formateur, d’un employeur, d’un enseignant, ou d’un moniteur pour :

  • comprendre comment les compétences essentielles sont utilisées dans un métier;
  • déterminer les forces en matière de compétences essentielles et les aspects à améliorer;
  • améliorer les compétences essentielles et les chances de réussir un programme d’apprentissage.

Les outils sont disponibles en ligne où il est aussi possible de les commander.

Le profil des compétences essentielles pour les peintres et décorateurs et les peintres et décoratrices indique que les compétences essentielles les plus importantes sont la communication orale, la résolution de problèmes et la planification et l’organisation du travail. Les participants à l’atelier sur les ANP ont déterminé que le travail d’équipe était aussi très important pour cette profession.

Le présent document peut renfermer une description de la mise en pratique de ces compétences à l’intérieur des énoncés de compétences servant à appuyer chaque sous-tâche du métier. Un aperçu des exigences pour chaque compétence essentielle tiré des profils des compétences essentielles suit.

Les peintres et décorateurs et les peintres et décoratrices doivent lire une variété de documents liés à la sécurité comme les fiches signalétiques pour comprendre les exigences en matière d’équipement de protection individuelle (EPI) et d’équipement de sécurité lors de l'utilisation d'un matériau particulier ou d'une substance particulière, lire les règlements sur la santé et sur la sécurité au travail pour déterminer les méthodes de travail appropriées et sécuritaires et, lire les évaluations des dangers pour déterminer les mesures à prendre pour se protéger dans différentes situations dangereuses. Ils lisent les fiches techniques des produits pour déterminer l’application et l'utilisation appropriées de certains matériaux et de certaines substances. Ils lisent également les étiquettes sur l’équipement ainsi que les instructions d’utilisation. Ce facteur est particulièrement important pour diagnostiquer les défaillances, pour le montage ou pour la première utilisation de l’équipement afin d’assurer une utilisation efficace et sécuritaire.

Les peintres et décorateurs et les peintres et décoratrices interprètent et se réfèrent aux avant‑projets pour déterminer le type de peintures et d’enduits à appliquer et à quels endroits. Ils consultent les dessins d'assemblage et préparent les croquis des éléments à construire comme les structures de confinement. Ils interprètent les renseignements tirés des tableaux ou des graphiques pour déterminer les limites d'exposition à différents produits chimiques et pour choisir l’EPI approprié. Les peintres et décorateurs et les peintres et décoratrices doivent remplir les feuilles de temps et consigner les renseignements liés au contrôle de la qualité, tels les numéros de lot, les températures et les durées de séchage pour référence ultérieure en cas de problème.

Les peintres et décorateurs et les peintres et décoratrices remplissent les bons de travail, les listes de matériaux et les feuilles de temps. Ils peuvent dresser une liste de tâches à accomplir et signer pour le matériel reçu.

Les peintres et décorateurs et les peintres et décoratrices estiment les rapports de mélange et mesurent les quantités de peintures, de diluants, de solvants et d’enduits. Ils estiment le temps, le coût et le matériel nécessaires à l’exécution d’une tâche. De plus, les peintres et décorateurs et les peintres et décoratrices estiment et prennent des mesures pour calculer la superficie, le recouvrement et les pieds cubes par minute. Ils calculent le poids des matériaux pouvant être supportés sans risque par un échafaudage volant ou une plateforme. Ils utilisent les systèmes de mesures métrique et impérial et doivent donc être capables de faire la conversion entre les deux systèmes.

Les peintres et décorateurs et les peintres et décoratrices discutent avec les collègues, les contremaîtresses les contremaîtres et les autres gens de métier pour coordonner les activités ou pour clarifier les procédures. Ils donnent des directives aux apprenties et aux apprentis, participent à des réunions sur les projets et conseillent les clients sur l'agencement des couleurs et le choix de revêtements muraux. Dans l’exercice de leur travail dans le milieu industriel, ils doivent utiliser les signaux manuels ou les radios avec émetteur-récepteur pour communiquer avec les opératrices de grues et les opérateurs de grues, ainsi qu’avec les autres gens de métier.

Les peintres et décorateurs et les peintres et décoratrices utilisent la résolution de problèmes pour régler les problèmes qui peuvent survenir sur le chantier, tels la dissonance des couleurs ou les défauts de finition, ou pour diagnostiquer les défaillances de l'équipement. Ils utilisent leur capacité de prendre des décisions pour se prononcer sur les types de matériaux et les méthodes d'application à utiliser pour une tâche, et pour déterminer la façon d'aborder cette tâche. Ils planifient le matériel et l'équipement dont ils ont besoin pour effectuer leurs tâches et coordonnent leurs activités pour répondre aux besoins des autres corps de métiers sur le chantier.

Les peintres et décorateurs et les peintres et décoratrices travaillent habituellement au sein d'une équipe qui peut être formée d’apprenties et d’apprentis, d’autres compagnes et d’autres compagnons, de superviseuses et de superviseurs, bien qu'ils peuvent travailler seuls sur certaines tâches ou sur certains travaux. Ils peuvent exercer des fonctions de supervision et d’encadrement ou surveiller le rendement des autres, y compris les apprenties et les apprentis ou le nouveau personnel.

Les peintres et décorateurs et les peintres et décoratrices peuvent se servir d’Internet pour rechercher des produits et des renseignements liés à la sécurité. Ils peuvent utiliser des ordinateurs pour la conception de graphiques, pour transmettre les registres des travaux et les agencements des couleurs.

L'apprentissage des peintres et décorateurs et des peintres et décoratrices se fait par la formation en cours d'emploi et en observant des collègues. Ils peuvent actualiser leurs connaissances sur les produits en discutant avec des vendeurs et en lisant les dépliants ou d'autres documents. Ils peuvent assister aux cours de perfectionnement en entrant dans un nouveau domaine de spécialisation. Ils peuvent également participer à des séances de formation fournies par les fabricants de nouveaux produits ou de produits spécialisés et par les fournisseurs de formation syndicale.

Remerciements

Le CCDA et RHDCC tiennent à exprimer leur gratitude aux gens du métier, aux entreprises, aux associations professionnelles, aux syndicats, aux ministères et aux organismes gouvernementaux des provinces et des territoires ainsi qu’à toute autre personne ayant participé à la production de la présente publication.

Le CCDA et RHDCC désirent particulièrement exprimer leur reconnaissance aux gens du métier suivants :

  • Domenic DeSando - Ontario
  • Dustin Friesen - Alberta
  • Gerard Martin - Nouvelle-Écosse
  • Christopher Miller - Nouveau-Brunswick
  • Joe Ott - Colombie-Britannique
  • Keith St. Croix - Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador
  • Albert Turcotte - Manitoba
  • Nathan Warnica - Syndicat international des peintres et métiers connexes
  • Jerry White - Saskatchewan

La présente analyse a été préparée par la Direction des partenariats en milieu de travail de RHDCC. La coordination, la facilitation et la production de l’analyse ont été effectuées par l’équipe responsable de l'élaboration des ANP de la Division des métiers et de l’apprentissage. Le Nouveau-Brunswick, la province hôte, a également participé à la mise à jour de cette ANP.

Les commentaires et les questions au sujet de cette publication peuvent être transmis à :

Division des métiers et de l’apprentissage
Direction de l’intégration au marché du travail
Emploi et Développement social Canada
140, promenade du Portage, Portage IV, 6e étage
Gatineau (Québec)  K1A 0J9
Courriel : redseal-sceaurouge@hrsdc-rhdcc.gc.ca

Date de modification :