Machinist Red Seal Occupational Standard (RSOS)

The Canadian Council of Directors of Apprenticeship (CCDA) recognizes this Red Seal Occupational Standard (RSOS) as the Red Seal standard for the Machinist trade.

Red Seal Occupational Standard Series

Disponible en français sous le titre : Machiniste norme professionnelle du sceau rouge

NOC: 7231

Designation Year: 1965

RSOS Products for Download

The Machinist Red Seal Occupational Standard is developed by Canadian trade representatives. It collects information about the trade as it is practiced across Canada.

This RSOS information is combined in several ways to generate several RSOS Products, each these is based on information contained in the complete RSOS, and is geared to user needs:

Product Purpose
Red Seal Occupational Standard - Machinist A complete description of all trade activities, skills and knowledge. The Standard defines the trade by collecting and organizing elements together.
Trade Profile - Machinist A quick snapshot of all trade activities in the standard. It can be used to self-assess experience. It can be used to introduce a concise summary of all trade activities to those wanting to learn about the trade. It can also be used for gap analysis.
Validation/Weighting Worksheet - Machinist Used by jurisdictions to assign relative weightings to Major Work Activities, Tasks and Subtasks. Also used to identify sub-tasks that are performed in each jurisdiction.
Item Bank Development Guide - Machinist Organizes the Skills elements for the purpose of developing the written examination based on workplace activities and skills. It outlines the respective weighting for all trade activities for testing on the interprovincial Red Seal examination.
Declaration of Trade Work Experience Form - Machinist A form that can be used by a candidate’s employer to attest to the trade experience of an employee or former employee. Results of this verification could lead to eligibility to challenge the Red Seal examination or enter into an apprenticeship program with advanced standing.

(please contact your provincial and territorial apprenticeship authority for a jurisdiction-specific product)
Red Seal Examination Preparation Guide - Machinist This document provides a breakdown of the percentage of questions on the Red Seal exam on activities in the trade. It also describes the trade’s skill requirements. It can be used to self-assess and prepare for writing the Red Seal examination.
Curriculum Outline - Machinist Organizes the Knowledge elements of the standard and provides recommendations for training levels. These are meant to assist in developing and delivering technical training curricula.

(please contact your provincial and territorial apprenticeship authority for a jurisdiction-specific product)
Logbook - Machinist Provides a concise list of all trade activities in a logbook format for the purpose of sign-off by employer. Makes reference to the complete occupational standard for more detailed information on each sub-task. Its purpose is to help guide the on-the-job training and to track the progression of trade training.

(please contact your provincial and territorial apprenticeship authority for a jurisdiction-specific product)
On-the-job Training Guide - Machinist Could be a mentoring piece to complement the Curriculum outline.
Can provide journeypersons and apprentices an outline to help guide the teaching of trade skills at a level in advance of apprenticeship technical training.

(please contact your provincial and territorial apprenticeship authority for a more jurisdiction-specific product)

General Information

Description of the Machinist Trade

“Machinist” is this trades official Red Seal occupational title approved by the CCDA. This standard covers tasks performed by machinists whose occupational title has been identified by some provinces and territories of Canada under the following names:

NL NS PE NB QC ON MB SK AB BC NT YT NU
General Machinist x
Machinist x x x x x x x x x x x x

Fully qualified machinists possess the knowledge and abilities to set up and machine using conventional, portable and Computer Numerical Control (CNC) machines that cut or grind metal and other materials into products with precise dimensions. These machines include lathes, milling machines, saws, grinding machines, drilling machines, boring machines, electrical discharge machines (EDM), line borers and portable milling machines.

Machinists work from drawings, specifications and their own measurements to calculate dimensions, tolerances and types of fit. Precise measurements are critical to machinists work. They must be knowledgeable about the properties of metals and non-metallic materials.

Machinists may work in industries where machines are manufactured, repaired or used. These may include industries that manufacture machinery equipment, motor vehicle or aerospace parts. Machinists produce precision parts that are used in all aspects of manufacturing. They may also work in shipyards, rail yards, refineries, pulp and paper mills, mines, smelters, metal fabricating and repair shops. Some sectors that employ machinists may include oil and gas, medical, research and development and forestry. Shiftwork is common in some companies. Machinists tend to work indoors.

Safety is important at all times. There are risks of injury working with moving machine parts, sharp edges, flying debris and extreme temperatures from heated or chilled materials. Precautions are required while working with manufacturing chemicals and airborne irritants.

Key attributes for people entering this trade are: communication skills, mechanical aptitude, hand-eye coordination, manual dexterity, an ability to work independently and knowledge of mathematics and physics. The work often requires considerable standing and the handling of heavy objects. This standard recognizes similarities or overlaps with the work of other tradespeople such as tool and die makers, mould makers, welders and industrial mechanics (millwrights).

Experienced machinists may move into mentoring or supervisory positions. They may transfer their skills to related occupations such as tool and die maker, mould maker, industrial mechanic (millwright) or CNC programmer.

Essential Skills Summary

Essential skills are needed for work, learning and life. They provide the foundation for learning all other skills and enable people to evolve with their jobs and adapt to workplace change.

Through extensive research, the Government of Canada and other national and international agencies have identified and validated nine essential skills. These skills are used in nearly every occupation and throughout daily life in different ways.

A series of CCDA-endorsed tools have been developed to support apprentices in their training and to be better prepared for a career in the trades. The tools can be used independently or with the assistance of a tradesperson, trainer, employer, teacher or mentor to:

  • understand how essential skills are used in the trades;
  • learn about individual essential skills strengths and areas for improvement; and
  • improve essential skills and increase success in an apprenticeship program.

The tools are available online or for order at: https://www.canada.ca/en/employment-social-development/programs/essential-skills/profiles.html.

The application of these skills may be described throughout this document within the skills and knowledge which support each sub-task of the trade. The most important essential skills for each sub-task have also been identified. The following are summaries of the requirements in each of the essential skills, taken from the essential skills profile. A link to the complete essential skills profile can be found at http://www.red-seal.ca/.

Machinists require strong reading skills to gather information from forms and labels. They also need to read longer texts such as notes, letters, process sheets, manuals (Machinerys Handbook), specifications, regulations, reports, data collection, books and charts.

Document use is a significant essential skill for this trade. Machinists need to be able to refer to and interpret several types of documents such as inspection reports, work orders, charts, sketches, drawings, set-up sheets and job travellers. They also need to be able to enter information or create these documents.

Writing skills are used by machinists to record job procedures, write work-related requests, record tooling lists and setup sheets, and record work instructions and process sheets.

Some tasks performed by machinists require oral communication skills, including exchanging technical information with co-workers in their trade and other trades, discussing work with supervisors, interacting with clients and instructing less-experienced machinists and apprentices.

Numeracy skills are very important in the everyday work of machinists. Machinists frequently calculate measurements and dimensions of raw materials and finished products to make sure they match specifications. They must calculate speeds and feeds for the machines that they operate. Layout of workpieces requires strong geometry and trigonometry skills.

Machinists must plan, make allowances and corrections, and determine the best sequence of work processes. They use problem solving skills to assess and adjust machining processes according to unforeseen circumstances. Machinists must make decisions and use critical thinking about the materials, processes or tools to use for specific jobs. They may initiate design changes. They may be responsible for scheduling and delegating tasks to apprentices or junior machinists.

Much of machinists work may be done independently such as interpreting, planning, producing and repairing parts. Machinists may work with other machinists to carry out new or complex tasks, or work on larger jobs. They may also work with engineering staff and computer programming staff.

Machinists may use computers and CAD software in their work. They may use computers to access database information, reference electronic manuals and resources, communicate with others or perform Internet research. Certain equipment such as CMM and CNC machines require digital technology skills.

Machinists are required to stay abreast of new technologies, products and trends in the machining industry.

Trends in the Machinist Trade

Technology

Conventional machining skills continue to form the basis of the trade and are pre-requisite to being able to set up and program CNC machine-tools safely and efficiently.

Hybrid machines, which combine conventional and CNC features, continue to be part of the market.

Many advances in machine-tool configuration and technology, in particular CNC, as well as advances in cutting tools and fluids have increased efficiency and accuracy.

Quick change and modular tooling allows for easier and faster tool changes during setup and CNC machine operation. It allows for increased spindle uptime and simple tool pre-setting outside of the machine.

Additive manufacturing is a relatively new process that may open a lot of doors for manufacturing of complex components that were previously impossible or cost prohibitive to manufacture. Parts can be “grown” to near net size with complex internal porting and passages. Often, very little machining is required to bring these parts to their finished state. This technology is still being developed and as yet is not a prominent part of the machinist trade.

Most large scale manufacturers use some type of advanced data analysis to track factors such as whether machines are online or offline, number of parts produced, percentage of parts meeting requirements and whether delivery schedules are being met. Currently, this type of system is mainly implemented in high production environments.

Robotics continues to be a great asset in a high production atmosphere. They can be used to load and unload parts, sort components and assist in quality control. Their cost and complexity of setup may be a deterrent for smaller operations with lower production numbers.

Single setup machining uses multiple axes to reduce lead times and increase efficiency.

High-speed machining has the potential to revolutionize certain machining operations. By using specialized cutters and higher than conventional cutting speeds and feed rates, dramatically higher metal removal rates can be achieved while reducing heat in the cut as well as reducing cutting pressure.

Flexible manufacturing systems have been introduced; these machining systems can handle varying levels of manufacturing with a quickly changing machining environment. This method of producing goods is readily adaptable to changes in the product being manufactured.

Machinists may use computer-aided design (CAD) and/or computer-aided manufacturing (CAM) software to program CNC machines to cut parts. Stand-alone toolpath verification software can provide a solution for detecting and avoiding tool and machine collisions. It can also verify NC codes.

Tool inventory systems allow for real time inventory status of all tools and instant assignment to particular jobs/tasks. With automation and development of wireless technology, tool management can go directly to the machine and machine operator. It improves security, storage and inventory control.

Work Practices

Workcells are areas set up within a manufacturing facility. They are part of the Lean Manufacturing Process. They are task focused and logically laid out to optimize resources, improve workflow and quality, and reduce waste.

Safety and Environmental

Enforcement and penalties for safety violations are becoming more stringent across Canada. These cover mandatory access to inspectors and stop work orders imposed until safety issues are resolved.

More stringent environmental regulations are having an impact on manufacturing processes across Canada.

Industry Expected Performance

All tasks must be performed according to the applicable jurisdictional codes and standards. All health and safety standards must be respected and observed. Work should be done efficiently and to a high quality without material waste or environmental damage. All requirements of employers, engineers, designers, manufacturers, clients and quality control policies must be met. At a journeyperson level of performance, all tasks must be done with minimal direction and supervision. A machinist should have or endeavour to have a strong understanding of engineering symbols, terms and practices to ensure they understand the important details contained in engineering drawings. As a journeyperson progresses in their career there is an expectation they continue to upgrade their skills and knowledge to maintain pace with industry and promote continuous learning in their trade through mentoring of apprentices.

Language Requirements

It is expected that journeypersons are able to understand and communicate in either English or French, which are Canadas official languages. English or French are the common languages of business as well as languages of instruction in apprenticeship programs.

Acknowledgements

The CCDA and ESDC wish to express sincere appreciation for the contribution of the many tradespersons, industrial establishments, professional associations, labour organizations, provincial and territorial government departments and agencies, and all others who contributed to this publication.

Special thanks are offered to the following representatives who contributed greatly to the original draft of the standard and provided expert advice throughout its development:

  • Marte Arreola - British Columbia
  • Grant Callies - Alberta
  • Dugald Carter - Manitoba
  • Jennifer Dahl - Alberta
  • Erwin Dyck - Saskatchewan
  • Darrel Evely - Newfoundland and Labrador
  • Ian Feys - Manitoba
  • Corey Gushue - New Brunswick
  • Mike Hall - British Columbia
  • Alan Hemphill - Nova Scotia
  • Stan Jacklin - Nova Scotia
  • Samuel Jahn - British Columbia
  • Chris Keefe - Newfoundland and Labrador
  • Marc Landry - New Brunswick
  • Mario Luburic - Ontario
  • John Palmer - Prince Edward Island
  • Benoit Paquette - Ontario
  • Terry Pederson - Saskatchewan
  • Bert Sonier - New Brunswick
  • Wolfgang Theiss - Ontario
  • Ron Yurkowski - Manitoba

This standard was prepared by the Apprenticeship and Regulated Occupations Directorate of ESDC. The coordinating, facilitating and processing of this analysis were undertaken by employees of the standards development team of the Trades and Apprenticeship Division and of Ontario, the host jurisdiction for this trade.

Date modified:

Machiniste Norme professionnelle du Sceau rouge (NPSR)

Le Conseil canadien des directeurs de l'apprentissage (CCDA) reconnaît la présente Norme professionnelle du Sceau rouge (NPSR) comme la norme du Sceau rouge pour le métier de machiniste.

Série d'analyses de professions

Available in English under the title: Machinist Red Seal Occupational Standard (RSOS)

CNP : 7231

Année de désignation : 1965

NPSR produits pour télécharger

La norme professionnelle du Sceau rouge pour le métier Machiniste est développée par des représentants de métier canadiens. Ce document recueille l’information sur ce métier tel que celui-ci est pratiqué au Canada.

L’information NPSR est assemblée de plusieurs façons afin de générer plusieurs produits NPSR; chacun de ces produits est basé sur l’information contenue dans la NPSR complète et est destiné aux besoins des utilisateurs.

Produit Objectif
Norme professionnelle du Sceau rouge - Machiniste Offrir une description complète de toutes les activités effectuées dans le métier et de toutes les compétences et connaissances nécessaires pour exercer ce métier. La norme définit le métier en regroupant et en organisant les éléments.
Profil du métier - Machiniste Présenter un aperçu de toutes les activités effectuées dans le métier décrites dans la norme. Le profil du métier peut être utilisé pour autoévaluer l'expérience acquise, pour présenter un sommaire de toutes les activités effectuées dans le métier aux gens qui veulent apprendre ce métier et pour l'analyse des lacunes.
Guide d’auto-évaluation pour l’examen du Sceau rouge – Machiniste (PDF, 1,2 Mo) Utilisez l’outil d’auto-évaluation pour évaluer votre propre compréhension et votre expérience pour les tâches qui font parties de l’examen du Sceau rouge.

Information générale

Description du métier de Machiniste

« Machiniste » est le titre officiel Sceau rouge de ce métier tel qu'il a été approuvé par le CCDA. La présente NPSR couvre les tâches qu'exécute une ou un xxxxx, dont le titre professionnel est reconnu dans certaines provinces et certains territoires du Canada sous les noms suivants :

NL NS PE NB QC ON MB SK AB BC NT YT NU
Machiniste général x
Machiniste x x x x x x x x x x x x

Les machinistes pleinement qualifiés possèdent les connaissances et les capacités pour installer et faire fonctionner des machines conventionnelles, portables et à commande numérique par ordinateur (CNC) qui coupent ou qui meulent le métal ou tout autre matériau pour fabriquer des produits aux dimensions précises. Ces machines comprennent des tours, des fraiseuses, des scies, des rectifieuses, des perceuses, des aléseuses, des machines d'usinage par étincelage (EDM), des aléseuses en ligne et des fraiseuses portables.

Les machinistes travaillent à partir de dessins, de spécifications et de leurs propres mesures pour calculer des dimensions, des tolérances et des types d'ajustements. La précision des mesures est essentielle pour leur travail. Ils doivent connaître les propriétés des métaux et des matériaux non métalliques.

Les machinistes peuvent travailler dans des usines où les machines sont fabriquées, réparées ou utilisées. Ces usines peuvent comprendre des usines où l'on fabrique des pièces d'équipement de machinerie, des pièces de véhicules automobiles ou des pièces pour le secteur de l'aérospatiale. Les machinistes usinent des pièces de précision qui sont utilisées dans toutes les sphères de la fabrication. Ils peuvent également travailler sur des chantiers navals, dans des entreprises ferroviaires, dans des raffineries, dans des usines de pâtes et papiers, dans des mines, dans des fonderies et dans des ateliers de fabrication et de réparation de produits métalliques. Le secteur pétrolier et gazier, le secteur médical, le secteur de la recherche et du développement et le secteur forestier figurent parmi les secteurs qui emploient des machinistes. Dans certaines entreprises, le travail par quarts est fréquent. Les machinistes travaillent généralement à l'intérieur.

La sécurité est importante en tout temps. Il y a des risques de blessures en travaillant avec des pièces de machines mobiles et des bords coupants et dans des milieux où des débris sont projetés et où les températures dégagées par des matériaux chauffés ou refroidis sont extrêmes. La prudence est de mise lorsque les machinistes travaillent avec des produits chimiques de fabrication et des irritants en suspension dans l'air.

Les qualités importantes que doit posséder une personne voulant devenir machiniste sont : des aptitudes en communication, des aptitudes mécaniques, une bonne coordination œil-main, une dextérité manuelle, la capacité à travailler de façon autonome et une connaissance des mathématiques et de la physique. Le travail de machiniste requiert fréquemment de rester debout durant une longue période ou de manipuler des objets lourds. La présente NPSR reconnaît des ressemblances et des chevauchements dans le travail d'autres gens de métier, notamment les outilleurs-ajusteurs/outilleuses-ajusteuses, les moulistes, les soudeurs/soudeuses et les mécaniciens industriels/mécaniciennes industrielles (de chantier).

Les machinistes expérimentés peuvent jouer le rôle de mentors ou occuper des postes de superviseurs. Ils peuvent utiliser leurs connaissances dans des métiers connexes comme les métiers d'outilleur-ajusteur/outilleuse-ajusteuse, de mouliste, de mécanicien industriel/mécanicienne industrielle (de chantier) ou de programmeur/programmeuse de machines à CNC.

Sommaire des compétences essentielles

Les compétences essentielles sont les compétences nécessaires pour vivre, pour apprendre et pour travailler. Elles sont à la base de l'apprentissage de toutes les autres compétences et permettent aux gens d'évoluer avec leur emploi et de s'adapter aux changements du milieu du travail.

Grâce à des recherches approfondies, le gouvernement du Canada et d'autres organismes nationaux et internationaux ont déterminé et validé neuf compétences essentielles. Ces compétences sont mises en application dans presque tous les métiers et dans la vie quotidienne sous diverses formes.

Une série d'outils approuvés par le CCDA ont été élaborés pour aider les apprenties et les apprentis à suivre leur formation et à être mieux préparés pour leur carrière dans les métiers. Les outils peuvent être utilisés avec ou sans l'assistance d'une personne de métier, d'une formatrice ou d'un formateur, d'une employeuse ou d'un employeur, d'une enseignante ou d'un enseignant ou d'une mentore ou d'un mentor pour :

  • comprendre comment les compétences essentielles sont exercées dans un métier;
  • en apprendre sur les forces de chacun en matière de compétences essentielles et sur les aspects à améliorer;
  • améliorer les compétences essentielles et les chances de réussir un programme d'apprentissage.

Il est possible de consulter ou de commander en ligne les outils au https://www.canada.ca/fr/emploi-developpement-social/programmes/competences-essentielles/profils.html.

Le présent document peut renfermer une description de la mise en pratique de ces compétences dans les énoncés de compétences et de connaissances nécessaires pour exécuter chaque sous-tâche du métier. Les compétences essentielles les plus importantes pour chaque sous-tâche ont également été déterminées. Un aperçu des exigences pour chaque compétence essentielle tiré des profils des compétences essentielles suit.

Les machinistes doivent avoir de très bonnes aptitudes à la lecture pour recueillir de l'information sur des formulaires et des étiquettes. Ils doivent aussi lire de longs textes comme des notes, des lettres, des fiches d'instructions, des manuels (par exemple, le Machinery's Handbook), des spécifications, des règlements, des rapports, des recueils de données, des livres et des diagrammes.

L'utilisation de documents est une compétence essentielle importante pour ce métier. Les machinistes doivent être en mesure de consulter et d'interpréter plusieurs types de documents comme des rapports d'inspection, des bons de travail, des diagrammes, des croquis, des dessins, des fiches d'installation et des fiches suiveuses. Ils doivent aussi être capables de consigner de l'information ou de créer ces documents.

Les machinistes doivent faire preuve d'aptitudes à consigner des procédures de travail, à rédiger des demandes liées au travail, à consigner des listes d'outils et des fiches d'installation et à consigner des instructions de travail et des fiches d'instructions.

Certaines tâches qu'effectuent les machinistes exigent des aptitudes à communiquer oralement, notamment à échanger de l'information technique avec les collègues de même métier ainsi que d'autres métiers, à discuter des tâches avec les superviseurs, à interagir avec les clients et à instruire les machinistes moins expérimentés et les apprentis.

Les compétences en calcul sont très importantes dans le travail quotidien des machinistes. Ces derniers calculent fréquemment les mesures et les dimensions de matières premières et de produits finis pour veiller à ce qu'ils soient conformes aux spécifications. Ils doivent calculer les vitesses et les avances pour les machines qu'ils font fonctionner. Le traçage des pièces à usiner exige d'excellentes compétences en géométrie et en trigonométrie.

Les machinistes doivent faire de la planification, tenir compte des surépaisseurs d'usinage, effectuer des corrections et déterminer la meilleure séquence d'exécution des tâches. Ils font preuve d'aptitudes à résoudre des problèmes pour évaluer et modifier des procédés d'usinage en fonction de circonstances imprévues. Les machinistes doivent prendre des décisions et faire appel à leur pensée critique quant aux matériaux, aux procédés ou aux outils à utiliser pour différents travaux. Ils peuvent apporter des changements nécessaires à la conception. Ils peuvent être responsables de la planification et de la délégation des tâches aux apprentis ou aux machinistes débutants.

Une grande partie du travail des machinistes peut se faire de façon indépendante, comme l'interprétation, la planification, la production et la réparation de pièces. Les machinistes peuvent travailler avec d'autres machinistes pour effectuer de nouvelles tâches ou des tâches complexes, ou pour effectuer des travaux de plus grande ampleur. Ils peuvent aussi travailler avec des ingénieurs et des programmeurs.

Les machinistes peuvent utiliser des ordinateurs et des logiciels de dessin assisté par ordinateur (DAO) dans le cadre de leur travail. Ils peuvent utiliser des ordinateurs pour accéder à de l'information dans des bases de données, pour archiver des manuels et des ressources électroniques, pour communiquer avec les autres ou pour effectuer des recherches dans Internet. Certaines machines, comme les machines à mesurer les coordonnées (CMM) et les machines à commande numérique par ordinateur (CNC), nécessitent que les machinistes aient des compétences en technologie numérique.

Les machinistes doivent se tenir au courant des nouvelles technologies, des nouveaux produits et des nouvelles tendances dans l'industrie de l'usinage.

Tendances du métier Machiniste

Technologie

Les compétences en usinage traditionnel continuent d'être la base du métier et elles sont nécessaires pour l'installation et la programmation sécuritaires et efficaces des machines-outils à commande numérique par ordinateur (CNC).

Les machines hybrides, qui combinent des caractéristiques des machines conventionnelles et des machines à CNC, continuent de faire partie du marché.

De nombreuses avancées dans les domaines de la technologie et de la configuration de machines-outils, notamment les machines à CNC, ainsi que les avancées concernant les outils et les liquides de coupe, ont augmenté l'efficacité et la précision.

L'outillage modulaire et à changement rapide permet de changer d'outils plus facilement et plus rapidement pendant l'installation et le fonctionnement des machines à CNC. Il permet d'augmenter le temps utilisable de la broche et d'effectuer un préréglage simple des outils à l'extérieur de la machine.

La fabrication additive est un procédé relativement nouveau qui pourrait ouvrir de nombreuses portes pour la fabrication de composants complexes qui était auparavant impossible ou trop coûteuse. Les pièces peuvent être « agrandies » jusqu'à leur taille nette approximative comportant des réseaux complexes d'orifices et de passages internes. Souvent, très peu d'usinage est nécessaire pour terminer ces pièces. Cette technologie est toujours en développement et n'occupe pas encore une place importante dans le métier de machiniste.

La plupart des fabricants à grande échelle utilisent un certain type d'analyse avancée de données pour obtenir certains renseignements tels que le statut en ligne ou hors ligne des machines, le nombre de pièces produites, la proportion de pièces respectant les exigences et le respect ou non des dates de livraisons. À l'heure actuelle, ce type d'analyse est principalement implanté dans les milieux à production élevée.

La robotique demeure un atout précieux dans un milieu à production élevée. Elle peut être utilisée pour charger et décharger des pièces, trier des composants et faciliter le contrôle de la qualité. Or, son coût et la complexité de sa configuration peuvent avoir un effet dissuasif pour de petites entreprises ayant des volumes de production moins importants.

L'usinage à réglage unique se fait selon plusieurs axes pour réduire les délais d'exécution et augmenter l'efficacité.

L'usinage à grande vitesse pourrait révolutionner certaines opérations d'usinage. L'utilisation de fraises spécialisées et de vitesses de coupe et d'avance plus élevées que les vitesses traditionnelles permet d'atteindre des taux d'enlèvement de métal beaucoup plus élevés tout en réduisant la chaleur lors de la coupe et la pression de coupe.

Des systèmes de fabrication flexibles ont été introduits; ces systèmes d'usinage s'adaptent aux divers changements de leur milieu d'usinage. Cette méthode de production de biens s'adapte facilement lorsque les produits fabriqués changent.

Les machinistes peuvent utiliser un logiciel de fabrication assistée par ordinateur (FAO) pour programmer les machines à CNC servant à couper les pièces. Un logiciel autonome de vérification de la trajectoire d'outil peut constituer une solution pour détecter et éviter les collisions entre les outils et les machines. Ce logiciel peut également vérifier les codes des commandes numériques.

Les systèmes de contrôle des stocks d'outils permettent de connaître en temps réel l'état des stocks de tous les outils et d'être informé immédiatement de l'affectation de tâches particulières. Grâce à l'automatisation et au développement des technologies sans fil, l'information concernant la gestion des outils se rend directement à la machine et à l'opérateur de la machine. Cette fonctionnalité améliore la sécurité, l'entreposage et le contrôle des stocks.

Pratiques de travail

Les cellules de travail sont des aires organisées dans les installations de fabrication. Elles suivent le principe de fabrication sans gaspillage. Elles sont axées sur les tâches et sont disposées logiquement pour optimiser les ressources, améliorer la productivité et la qualité et réduire le gaspillage.

Sécurité et environnement

Les mesures d'application des règlements de sécurité et les sanctions liées à la violation de ces règlements sont de plus en plus rigoureuses au Canada. Ces mesures comprennent l'obligation de permettre l'accès des inspecteurs aux installations et les ordres de suspension des travaux jusqu'à ce que les problèmes de sécurité soient résolus.

Le resserrement de la réglementation environnementale a une incidence sur les processus de fabrication au Canada.

Niveau de performance auquel s'attend l'industrie

Toutes les tâches doivent être effectuées conformément aux règlements, aux normes et aux codes provinciaux et territoriaux qui s'appliquent. Toutes les normes de santé et de sécurité doivent être respectées et observées. Le travail doit être de grande qualité et effectué de manière sécuritaire et efficace selon un minimum de gaspillage de matériaux et tout en respectant l'environnement. Toutes les exigences des employeurs, des ingénieurs, des concepteurs, des fabricants, des clients et des politiques d'assurance de la qualité doivent être respectées. Au niveau de performance d'un compagnon, toutes les tâches doivent être menées avec un minimum d'orientation et de supervision. Les machinistes doivent avoir ou s'efforcer d'avoir une grande compréhension des symboles techniques, des termes et des pratiques afin de comprendre les détails importants contenus dans les dessins techniques. Au fur et à mesure que les compagnons progressent dans leur carrière, il est attendu qu'ils continuent à mettre leurs compétences et leurs connaissances à niveau pour suivre l'évolution de l'industrie et qu'ils favorisent l'apprentissage continu dans leur métier par l'entremise du compagnonnage d'apprentis.

Exigences linguistiques

Il est attendu que les compagnons peuvent comprendre et communiquer en anglais ou en français, les deux langues officielles du Canada. L'anglais ou le français sont les langues des affaires courantes ainsi que les langues d'enseignement dans les programmes de formation en apprentissage.

Remerciements

Le CCDA et EDSC tiennent à exprimer leur gratitude aux gens du métier, aux entreprises, aux associations professionnelles, aux syndicats, aux ministères et organismes gouvernementaux des provinces et des territoires ainsi qu'à toute autre personne ayant participé à la production de la présente publication.

Des remerciements particuliers sont adressés aux représentants ci-dessous, qui ont grandement contribué à la version initiale de la présente norme et qui ont offert des conseils d'experts durant son élaboration :

  • Marte Arreola - Colombie-Britannique
  • Grant Callies - Alberta
  • Dugald Carter - Manitoba
  • Jennifer Dahl - Alberta
  • Erwin Dyck - Saskatchewan
  • Darrel Evely - Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador
  • Ian Feys - Manitoba
  • Corey Gushue - Nouveau-Brunswick
  • Mike Hall - Colombie-Britannique
  • Alan Hemphill - Nouvelle-Écosse
  • Stan Jacklin - Nouvelle-Écosse
  • Samuel Jahn - Colombie-Britannique
  • Chris Keefe - Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador
  • Marc Landry - Nouveau-Brunswick
  • Mario Luburic - Ontario
  • John Palmer - Île-du-Prince-Édouard
  • Benoit Paquette - Ontario
  • Terry Pederson - Saskatchewan
  • Bert Sonier - Nouveau-Brunswick
  • Wolfgang Theiss - Ontario
  • Ron Yurkowski - Manitoba

La présente NPSR a été préparée par le personnel de la Direction de l'apprentissage et des professions réglementées d'EDSC. La coordination, la facilitation et la production de la présente NPSR ont été effectuées par l'équipe d'élaboration des NPSR de la Division des métiers et de l'apprentissage. L'Ontario, la province hôte, a aussi pris part à l'élaboration de la présente NPSR.

Date de modification :