Insulator (Heat and Frost) Red Seal Occupational Standard (RSOS)

The Canadian Council of Directors of Apprenticeship (CCDA) recognizes this Red Seal Occupational Standard (RSOS) as the Red Seal standard for the Insulator (Heat and Frost) trade.

Red Seal Occupational Standard Series

Disponible en français sous le titre : Calorifugeur/calorifugeuse (chaleur et froid)

NOC: 7293

Designation Year: 1991

RSOS Products for Download

The Insulator (Heat and Frost) Red Seal Occupational Standard is developed by Canadian trade representatives. It collects information about the trade as it is practiced across Canada.

This RSOS information is combined in several ways to generate several RSOS Products, each of these is based on information contained in the complete RSOS, and is geared to user needs:

Product Purpose
Red Seal Occupational Standard - Insulator (Heat and Frost) A complete description of all trade activities, skills and knowledge. The Standard defines the trade by collecting and organizing elements together.
Trade Profile - Insulator (Heat and Frost) A quick snapshot of all trade activities in the standard. It can be used to self-assess experience. It can be used to introduce a concise summary of all trade activities to those wanting to learn about the trade. It can also be used for gap analysis.
Red Seal Exam Self-Assessment Guide – Insulator (Heat and Frost) (PDF, 964 KB) Use this self-assessment tool to rate your own understanding and experience with the tasks of the trade that are on the Red Seal examination.

General Information

Description of the Insulator (Heat and Frost) Trade

“Insulator (Heat and Frost)” is this trade’s official Red Seal occupational title approved by the CCDA. This standard covers tasks performed by an insulator (heat and frost) whose occupational title has been identified by some provinces and territories of Canada under the following names:

Table
  NL NS PE NB QC ON MB SK AB BC NT YT NU
Heat and Frost Insulator           X              
Insulator         X                
Insulator (Heat and Frost) X X X X     X X X X X X X

Insulators (heat and frost) work with different kinds of insulating material to prevent or reduce the passage of heat, cold, vapour, moisture, sound or fire. They read and interpret drawings and specifications to determine insulation requirements, select the amount and type of insulation to be installed, and measure and cut insulating material to the required dimensions. They then apply, install, repair and maintain insulating material. Insulated surfaces may be finished with materials such as plastics, aluminum, galvanized steel and coated steel, stainless steel, canvas, mastic laminate or finishing cement. Insulators (heat and frost) also lay out and fabricate parts on-site, or remove or seal off old insulation.

Types of insulating materials that may be used include calcium silicate, ceramic fibre, elastomeric foam, nano-like technology, mineral fibre, fibreglass, polyurethane, polystyrene and cellular glass. They may be used for systems such as plumbing, air-handling, exhaust, heating, cooling and refrigeration, for piping equipment, pressure vessels and storage tanks, as well as for walls, floors and ceilings of buildings, industrial complexes and ships.

Removing old insulating material such as asbestos, ceramic fibres, lead and mould is also part of the trade. Special training and licenses may be required to deal with these types of materials. Spraying insulating materials and installing fireproofing and fire stop systems are also specialized parts of the trade.

Insulators (heat and frost) are employed by governments, construction companies, insulation contractors and industrial plants, or may also be self-employed. They work on residential, industrial, commercial and institutional projects. Their work schedules depend on the type of work they are doing, ranging from regular work weeks, to shift work or irregular work hours. Schedules may depend on the availability of contracts, or inconvenience or health risks to adjacent workers or the public.

Insulators (heat and frost) work with a number of hand tools and power tools. They use personal protective equipment to protect themselves from workplace hazards. Also, they frequently use scaffolds, aerial lifts and ladders to help them accomplish their tasks. They can work indoors or outdoors, often in extreme temperatures. They may perform some of their tasks in confined spaces. Depending on the location of work, they may be required to travel.

The ability to be focused and responsible is a vital part of insulators’ (heat and frost) work and safety. The work often requires the insulators (heat and frost) to spend most of the day on their feet, bending, kneeling, working at heights, climbing (scaffolds, ladders) and lifting. Insulators (heat and frost) must be able to use their body to brace large items and guide objects or materials into place. This requires them to have a good combination of motor co-ordination, and manual and finger dexterity.

This standard recognizes similarities or overlaps with the work of boilermakers, roofers, sheet metal workers, painters and carpenters.

With experience, insulators (heat and frost) act as mentors and trainers to apprentices in the trade. They can also move into positions such as maintenance, instructor, contractor, foreperson, superintendent or estimator.

Essential Skills Summary

Essential skills are needed for work, learning and life. They provide the foundation for learning all other skills and enable people to evolve with their jobs and adapt to workplace change.

Through extensive research, the Government of Canada and other national and international agencies have identified and validated nine essential skills. These skills are used in nearly every occupation and throughout daily life in different ways.

A series of CCDA-endorsed tools have been developed to support apprentices in their training and to be better prepared for a career in the trades. The tools can be used independently or with the assistance of a tradesperson, trainer, employer, teacher or mentor to:

  • understand how essential skills are used in the trades;
  • learn about individual essential skills strengths and areas for improvement; and
  • improve essential skills and increase success in an apprenticeship program.

Tools are available online or for order at: https://www.canada.ca/en/employment-social-development/programs/essential-skills/profiles.html.

The application of these skills may be described throughout this document within the competency statements which support each subtask of the trade. The following are summaries of the requirements in each of the essential skills, taken from the essential skills profile.

  • Reading

    Insulators (heat and frost) use reading skills to read manuals and details of job specifications such as material lists. They read safety notices, work permits, safety regulations and emergency procedures in order to maintain a safe work environment.

  • Document Use

    Documents that insulators (heat and frost) work with include material lists, Workplace Hazardous Materials Information System (WHMIS) sheets and labels, instructions, work orders, reports, dispatch sheets and memos. They may also consult and interpret blueprints, specifications and permits, and complete logbooks.

  • Writing

    Insulators (heat and frost) write lists of materials and instructions. They may write hazard assessments, accident reports or keep work records for themselves and apprentices.

  • Oral Communication

    Insulators (heat and frost) use oral communication skills during daily or weekly toolbox meetings with co-workers and supervisors to discuss job details. They also meet with workers from other trades to coordinate work. Oral communication skills are important when training apprentices.

  • Numeracy

    Insulators (heat and frost) use numeracy skills for measuring and cutting insulation, and determining thickness of insulation for pipes, ducts and equipment. They use formulas for calculating surface areas of frustrums, cones, and regular and irregular shapes to estimate required materials. They also use formulas to determine the thickness of insulation. They may need to convert between metric and imperial measurements.

  • Thinking

    Problem solving skills are used by insulators (heat and frost) to anticipate and deal with situations such as materials not arriving as scheduled, unplanned shortages, or the wrong materials being delivered. Every job is different and often plans change requiring insulators (heat and frost) to adapt to the current requirements. Insulators (heat and frost) use their decision making skills when dealing with various issues such as where to make cuts so the material can be formed to the required shape and how to accurately cut the material to avoid waste.

  • Digital Technology

    Computers may be used by insulators (heat and frost) for tasks such as accessing specifications and blueprints (Computer Assisted Drawing [CAD]), receiving work orders and for the delivery of safety training. They use digital measuring equipment such as heat guns and thermal imaging cameras, and software such as energy loss assessment. Internet-based applications are also commonly used for research and documentation.

  • Working with Others

    Insulators (heat and frost) mostly work independently. They co-ordinate their work with other workers on-site including apprentices, journeypersons, supervisory personnel and workers from other trades depending on the size of the work site and the type of work.

  • Continuous Learning

    There is an ongoing requirement to learn while working as an insulator (heat and frost). Work sites and companies may have different protocols. Applications, materials and processes are continually changing and skills need to be kept up-to-date.

Trends in the Insulator (Heat and Frost) Trade

Materials

There are new insulating materials being introduced such as aluminum impregnated insulation, nano-like technology and wicking type insulation. Endothermic sheets for fireproofing electrical trays are being used more and more frequently. Their application and maintenance requires that insulators (heat and frost) stay up-to-date. More prefabricated materials have emerged, but insulators are still required to do layout and fabrication on-site.

Tools and equipment

Many tools have become more technologically advanced. For example, there are more electric and power fabrication tools such as electric rollers and shears. Computer Numerical Control (CNC) machines may become more common in this industry for the fabrication of metal fittings.

Safety and environmental considerations

Workplace safety is increasingly being driven by government regulations. Training and certification for asbestos removal is becoming prevalent in many jurisdictions. Due to growing concerns for the environment, there is an increased demand by clients for the use of insulation for energy saving purposes and environmentally friendly products such as low volatile organic compound (VOC) products. Mechanical insulation plays a large role in efforts to lower carbon emissions to net zero. This is driving an increased use of environmentally friendly mechanical insulation and products. This can also help in Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design (LEED) certification.

Changes in building codes have had a large impact on energy conservation and the work of insulators (heat and frost).

Industry Expected Performance

All tasks must be performed according to the applicable jurisdictional regulations and standards. All health and safety standards must be respected and observed. Work should be performed efficiently and at a high quality while minimizing material waste and environmental damage. All requirements of the manufacturer and client specifications must be met. At a journeyperson level of performance, all tasks must be completed with minimal direction and supervision. As a journeyperson progresses in their career there is an expectation they continue to upgrade their skills and knowledge to keep pace with industry and promote continuous learning in their trade through mentoring of apprentices.

Language Requirements

It is expected that journeypersons are able to understand and communicate in either English or French, which are Canada’s official languages. English or French are the common language of business as well as language of instruction in apprenticeship programs.

Acknowledgements

The CCDA and ESDC wish to express sincere appreciation for the contribution of the many tradespersons, industrial establishments, professional associations, labour organizations, provincial and territorial government departments and agencies, and all others who contributed to this publication.

Special thanks are offered to the following representatives who contributed greatly to the original draft of the standard and provided expert advice throughout its development:

  • Roderick Alberton - Saskatchewan
  • Jeremy Carlson - Manitoba
  • Richard Chartrand - Quebec
  • Carey Chutskoff - Saskatchewan
  • David Gardner - Ontario
  • Robert Gray - Manitoba
  • Neil Holatko - Alberta
  • Ken Jakobsson - British Columbia
  • Todd Lewis - British Columbia
  • Alyre Malley - Nova Scotia
  • Adam Melnick - Ontario
  • Robert Robertson - Alberta
  • Joshua Sherrard - New Brunswick
  • George Thompson - British Columbia
  • Matthew Walsh - Newfoundland and Labrador
  • James Whitenect - New Brunswick
  • Michael Wilson - Ontario

This standard was prepared by the Apprenticeship and Regulated Occupations Directorate of ESDC. The coordinating, facilitating and processing of this standard were undertaken by employees of the standards development team of the Trades and Apprenticeship Division and of British Columbia, the host jurisdiction for this trade.

Date modified:

Calorifugeur/calorifugeuse (chaleur et froid) norme professionnelle du sceau rouge

Le Conseil canadien des directeurs de l’apprentissage (CCDA) reconnaît la présente Norme professionnelle du Sceau rouge (NPSR) comme la norme du Sceau rouge pour le métier de calorifugeur/calorifugeuse (chaleur et froid).

Série d'analyses de professions

Available in English under the title: Insulator (Heat and Frost)

CNP : 7293

Année de désignation : 1991

Produits de la NPSR à télécharger

La Norme professionnelle du Sceau rouge pour le métier de calorifugeur/calorifugeuse (chaleur et froid) est élaborée par des représentants canadiens du métier. Ce document contient l’information sur ce métier tel que celui-ci est pratiqué au Canada.

L’information contenue dans la NPSR est combinée de plusieurs façons pour générer plusieurs produits de la NPSR; chacun de ces produits est basé sur l’information contenue dans la NPSR complète et est destiné à répondre aux besoins des utilisateurs.

Produit Objectif
Norme professionnelle du Sceau rouge - Calorifugeur/calorifugeuse (chaleur et froid) Offrir une description complète de toutes les activités effectuées dans le métier et de toutes les compétences et connaissances nécessaires pour exercer ce métier. La norme définit le métier en regroupant et en organisant les éléments.
Profil du métier - Calorifugeur/calorifugeuse (chaleur et froid) Présenter un aperçu de toutes les activités effectuées dans le métier décrites dans la norme. Le profil du métier peut être utilisé pour autoévaluer l'expérience acquise, pour présenter un sommaire de toutes les activités effectuées dans le métier aux gens qui veulent apprendre ce métier et pour l'analyse des lacunes.
Guide d’auto-évaluation pour l’examen du Sceau rouge – Calorifugeur/calorifugeuse (chaleur et froid) (PDF, 1,1 Mo) Utilisez l’outil d’auto-évaluation pour évaluer votre propre compréhension et votre expérience pour les tâches qui font parties de l’examen du Sceau rouge.

Information générale

Description du métier de Calorifugeur/calorifugeuse (chaleur et froid)

« Calorifugeur/calorifugeuse (chaleur et froid) » est le titre officiel Sceau rouge de ce métier tel qu’il a été approuvé par le CCDA. La présente norme couvre les tâches qu’exécutent les calorifugeurs et les calorifugeuses (chaleur et froid) dont le titre professionnel est reconnu par certaines provinces et certains territoires sous les noms suivants :

Tableau
  NL NS PE NB QC ON MB SK AB BC NT YT NU
Calorifugeur/calorifugeuse (chaleur et froid) X X X X   X   X X X X X X
Calorifugeur (chaleur et froid)             X            
Calorifugeur/calorifugeuse         X                

Les calorifugeurs et les calorifugeuses (chaleur et froid) travaillent avec divers types de matériaux isolants pour empêcher ou pour réduire le passage de la chaleur, du froid, de la vapeur, de l’humidité, du bruit ou du feu. Ils lisent et interprètent les dessins et les spécifications pour déterminer les exigences d’isolation, pour sélectionner le type et la quantité d’isolant à poser et pour mesurer le matériau isolant et le couper aux dimensions requises. Ensuite, ils appliquent, installent, réparent et entretiennent le matériau isolant. Les surfaces isolées peuvent être revêtues de matériaux comme du plastique, de l’aluminium, de l’acier galvanisé, de l’acier revêtu, de l’acier inoxydable, de la toile, du mastic stratifié ou du ciment de finition. Les calorifugeurs et les calorifugeuses (chaleur et froid) tracent et fabriquent également des pièces sur place, ou enlèvent ou scellent de l’isolant existant.

Les types de matériaux isolants qui peuvent être utilisés comprennent le silicate de calcium, la fibre de céramique, la mousse élastomère, les matériaux issus de la nanotechnologie, la fibre minérale, la fibre de verre, le polyuréthane, le polystyrène et le verre cellulaire. Ils peuvent être utilisés pour isoler des installations comme les installations de plomberie, les appareils de traitement d’air, les conduits pour l’évacuation, les installations de chauffage, les installations de refroidissement et les installations de réfrigération, de même que la tuyauterie, les réservoirs sous pression et les réservoirs de stockage, les murs, les planchers et les plafonds des bâtiments, des complexes industriels et des navires.

L’enlèvement de matériaux isolants existants qui contiennent des substances comme de l’amiante, de la fibre céramique, du plomb et de la moisissure, fait également partie du métier. Une formation et des permis spéciaux peuvent être requis pour travailler avec ces types de matériaux. La pulvérisation de matériaux isolants et l’installation d’isolants résistants au feu et de systèmes coupe-feu sont d’autres aspects spécialisés du métier.

Les calorifugeurs et les calorifugeuses (chaleur et froid) travaillent pour des gouvernements, des compagnies de construction, des entreprises d’isolation et des usines, ou ils peuvent être travailleuses ou travailleurs autonomes. Ils travaillent sur des projets résidentiels, industriels, commerciaux et institutionnels. Leurs horaires de travail sont déterminés par le type de travail qu’ils effectuent et ils peuvent être soit des semaines de travail normales, soit des quarts de travail, soit des heures de travail changeantes. Les horaires peuvent varier selon la disponibilité des contrats, les inconvénients ou les risques pour la santé des travailleuses et des travailleurs adjacents ou du public.

Les calorifugeurs et les calorifugeuses (chaleur et froid) travaillent avec plusieurs outils à main et outils mécaniques. Ils utilisent de l’équipement de protection individuelle afin de se protéger des dangers sur le lieu de travail. De plus, ils utilisent fréquemment des échafaudages, des nacelles élévatrices et des échelles pour effectuer leurs tâches. Ils peuvent travailler à l’intérieur et à l’extérieur, souvent à des températures extrêmes, et effectuer certaines tâches dans des espaces clos. Selon le lieu de travail, ils peuvent être amenés à voyager.

La faculté de concentration et le sens des responsabilités sont des qualités essentielles pour le travail et la sécurité des calorifugeurs et des calorifugeuses (chaleur et froid). Leurs tâches demandent souvent qu’ils se tiennent longtemps debout, qu’ils se penchent ou s’agenouillent, qu’ils travaillent en hauteur, qu’ils grimpent (échafaudages et échelles) et qu’ils soulèvent des charges. Les calorifugeurs et les calorifugeuses (chaleur et froid) doivent être en mesure de se servir de leur corps pour soutenir des pièces volumineuses et pour mettre en place des objets ou des matériaux. Pour ce faire, ils doivent avoir une bonne combinaison de coordination motrice et de dextérité manuelle et digitale.

La présente NPSR reconnaît les similitudes ou les chevauchements avec les fonctions des chaudronniers et des chaudronnières, des couvreurs et des couvreuses, des ferblantiers et des ferblantières, des peintres et des charpentiers et des charpentières.

Après avoir acquis de l’expérience, les gens exerçant ce métier deviennent les mentores ou les mentors et les formatrices ou les formateurs des apprenties et des apprentis du métier. Ils peuvent également devenir responsables de l’entretien, instructrice ou instructeur, entrepreneuse ou entrepreneur, contremaîtresse ou contremaître, responsable de chantier, ou estimatrice ou estimateur.

Sommaire des compétences essentielles

Les compétences essentielles sont les compétences nécessaires pour vivre, pour apprendre et pour travailler. Elles sont à la base de l’apprentissage de toutes les autres compétences et permettent aux gens d’évoluer avec leur emploi et de s’adapter aux changements du milieu du travail.

Grâce à des recherches approfondies, le gouvernement du Canada et d’autres organismes nationaux et internationaux ont déterminé et validé neuf compétences essentielles. Ces compétences sont mises en application dans presque tous les métiers et dans la vie quotidienne sous diverses formes.

Une série d’outils approuvés par le CCDA a été élaborée pour aider les apprenties et les apprentis à suivre leur formation et à être mieux préparés pour leur carrière dans les métiers. Les outils peuvent être utilisés avec ou sans l’assistance d’une personne de métier, d’une formatrice ou d’un formateur, d’une employeuse ou d’un employeur, d’une enseignante ou d’un enseignant ou d’une monitrice ou d’un moniteur pour :

  • comprendre comment les compétences essentielles sont utilisées dans un métier;
  • déterminer les forces en matière de compétences essentielles et les aspects à améliorer;
  • améliorer les compétences essentielles et les chances de réussir un programme d’apprentissage.

Il est possible de commander les outils ou d’y accéder en ligne au https://www.canada.ca/fr/emploi-developpement-social/programmes/competences-essentielles/profils.html.

Le présent document peut renfermer une description de la mise en pratique de ces compétences dans des énoncés de compétences accompagnant chaque sous-tâche du métier. Un aperçu des exigences pour chaque compétence essentielle tiré des profils des compétences essentielles suit.

  • Lecture

    Les calorifugeurs et les calorifugeuses (chaleur et froid) utilisent leurs compétences en lecture pour lire les manuels et les définitions de tâches comme les listes de matériaux. Ils lisent des avis de sécurité, des permis de travail, des règlements de sécurité et des procédures en cas d’urgence pour maintenir un milieu de travail sécuritaire.

  • Utilisation des documents

    Les documents qu’utilisent les calorifugeurs et les calorifugeuses (chaleur et froid) comprennent les listes de matériaux, les fiches et les étiquettes du Système d’information sur les matières dangereuses utilisées au travail (SIMDUT), les instructions, les bons de travail, les rapports, les feuilles d’expédition et les notes de service. Ils peuvent également consulter et interpréter les plans, les spécifications et les permis, et remplir des registres.

  • Rédaction

    Les calorifugeurs et les calorifugeuses (chaleur et froid) rédigent des listes de matériaux et d’instructions. Ils peuvent rédiger des évaluations des dangers et des comptes rendus d’accidents ou tenir pour eux-mêmes et pour les apprenties et les apprentis des fiches de travail.

  • Communication orale

    Les calorifugeurs et les calorifugeuses (chaleur et froid) utilisent leurs compétences en communication orale lors de réunions quotidiennes ou hebdomadaires sur la sécurité avec des collègues et des superviseuses et des superviseurs pour discuter des détails du travail à accomplir. Ils rencontrent également des gens d’autres métiers pour coordonner les travaux. Les compétences en communication orale sont importantes lors de la formation des apprenties et des apprentis.

  • Calcul

    Les calorifugeurs et les calorifugeuses (chaleur et froid) utilisent leurs compétences en calcul pour mesurer et couper l’isolant et pour déterminer l’épaisseur de l’isolant pour les tuyaux, les conduits et l’équipement. Ils utilisent des formules pour calculer la superficie d’un tronc de cône, des cônes et d’autres formes régulières et irrégulières pour déterminer la quantité de matériau requis. De plus, ils utilisent des formules pour déterminer l’épaisseur de l’isolant. Ils peuvent devoir convertir les mesures du système impérial au système métrique.

  • Capacité de raisonnement

    Les calorifugeurs et les calorifugeuses (chaleur et froid) utilisent leurs aptitudes à résoudre des problèmes pour anticiper des problèmes tels que les matériaux non livrés comme prévu, les pénuries imprévues ou la livraison du mauvais matériau. Chaque travail présente des différences et souvent, les plans changent, ce qui exige une adaptation aux exigences actuelles de la part des calorifugeurs et des calorifugeuses (chaleur et froid). Ces derniers démontrent leurs aptitudes à prendre des décisions lorsqu’ils doivent décider où couper précisément les matériaux pour leur donner la forme nécessaire sans les gaspiller.

  • Technologie numérique

    Les calorifugeurs et les calorifugeuses (chaleur et froid) peuvent utiliser les ordinateurs pour avoir accès aux spécifications et aux plans (dessin assisté par ordinateur [DAO]), pour recevoir des bons de travail et suivre des formations sur la sécurité. Ils utilisent des appareils de mesure numérique, comme des pistolets thermiques et des caméras thermiques, et des logiciels comme les logiciels utilisés pour évaluer les pertes d’énergie. Les applications Web sont aussi fréquemment utilisées pour la recherche et la documentation.

  • Travail d’équipe

    Les calorifugeurs et les calorifugeuses (chaleur et froid) travaillent surtout de façon autonome. Ils coordonnent leurs travaux avec ceux des autres travailleuses et travailleurs sur le chantier, y compris les apprenties et les apprentis, les compagnes et les compagnons, le personnel de supervision et les travailleuses et les travailleurs d’autres métiers, selon la taille du chantier et le type de travail.

  • Apprentissage continue

    Les calorifugeurs et les calorifugeuses (chaleur et froid) sont sans cesse tenus d’apprendre dans le cadre de leurs fonctions. Chaque chantier et chaque entreprise peut avoir des pratiques différentes. Les applications, les matériaux et les procédés sont en constante évolution et les compétences doivent être maintenues à jour.

Tendances dans le métier de Calorifugeur/calorifugeuse (chaleur et froid)

Matériaux

De nouveaux matériaux isolants, comme l’isolant imprégné d’aluminium, les matériaux issus de la nanotechnologie et l’isolant à capillarité, sont introduits. Les feuilles endothermiques pour protéger les chemins de câbles électriques contre le feu sont utilisées de plus en plus fréquemment. Les calorifugeurs et les calorifugeuses (chaleur et froid) doivent rester à jour en ce qui concerne l’application et l’entretien de ces matériaux. Un plus grand nombre de matériaux préfabriqués ont fait leur apparition, mais les calorifugeurs et les calorifugeuses (chaleur et froid) doivent encore faire du traçage et fabriquer des éléments sur place.

Outils et équipement

De nombreux outils sont de plus en plus sophistiqués du point de vue technologique. Par exemple, il y a plus d’outils de fabrication électriques ou mécaniques comme les rouleaux à métal électriques et les cisailles électriques. Les machines à commande numérique par ordinateur (CNC) pourraient devenir plus répandues dans cette industrie pour la fabrication de raccords en métal.

Considérations relatives à la sécurité et à l’environnement

De plus en plus de règlements gouvernementaux régissent la sécurité au travail. La formation et la certification relatives à l’enlèvement de l’amiante sont de plus en plus répandues dans plusieurs provinces et territoires. En raison des préoccupations croissantes relativement à l’environnement, il y a une augmentation des demandes de la part des clients pour l’utilisation d’isolants à haut rendement énergétique et de produits écologiques comme les produits à faible teneur en composés organiques volatils (COV). L’isolation mécanique joue un grand rôle dans les efforts visant à réduire à zéro les émissions de carbone, ce qui entraîne une utilisation accrue de procédés d’isolation mécanique et de produits d’isolation mécaniques écologiques. L’isolation mécanique peut également faciliter l’obtention de la certification Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design (LEED).

Les changements apportés aux codes du bâtiment ont eu une grande incidence sur l’économie d’énergie et le travail des calorifugeurs et des calorifugeuses (chaleur et froid).

Niveau de performance auquel s’attend l’industrie

Toutes les tâches doivent être exécutées conformément aux règlements provinciaux et territoriaux et aux normes en vigueur. Toutes les normes en matière de santé et de sécurité doivent être observées. Les travaux doivent être de haute qualité et effectués de manière efficiente tout en réduisant au minimum les pertes de matériaux et les dommages causés à l’environnement. Toutes les exigences liées aux spécifications des fabricants et des clients doivent être respectées. Les compagnes et les compagnons doivent pouvoir exécuter les tâches avec peu d’orientation et de supervision. Au fur et à mesure qu’ils progressent dans leur carrière, ils doivent garder leurs compétences et leurs connaissances à jour afin de suivre l’évolution de l’industrie et promouvoir l’apprentissage continu dans leur métier par l’entremise du mentorat d’apprentis.

Exigences linguistiques

Il est attendu que les compagnes et les compagnons puissent comprendre l’anglais ou le français et communiquer dans l’une ou l’autre de ces langues, qui sont les deux langues officielles du Canada. L’anglais ou le français sont les langues communes des affaires et les langues d’enseignement dans les programmes de formation en apprentissage.

Remerciements

Le CCDA et EDSC tiennent à exprimer leur gratitude aux gens du métier, aux entreprises, aux associations professionnelles, aux syndicats, aux ministères et aux organismes gouvernementaux des provinces et des territoires ainsi qu’à toute autre personne ayant participé à la production de la présente publication.

Des remerciements particuliers sont offerts aux représentants ci-dessous, qui ont grandement contribué à la version initiale de la présente norme et qui ont offert des conseils d’experts durant son élaboration :

  • Roderick Alberton - Saskatchewan
  • Jeremy Carlson - Manitoba
  • Richard Chartrand - Québec
  • Carey Chutskoff - Saskatchewan
  • David Gardner - Ontario
  • Robert Gray - Manitoba
  • Neil Holatko - Alberta
  • Ken Jakobsson - Colombie-Britannique
  • Todd Lewis - Colombie-Britannique
  • Alyre Malley - Nouvelle-Écosse
  • Adam Melnick - Ontario
  • Robert Robertson - Alberta
  • Joshua Sherrard - Nouveau-Brunswick
  • George Thompson - Colombie-Britannique
  • Matthew Walsh - Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador
  • James Whitenect - Nouveau-Brunswick
  • Michael Wilson - Ontario

La présente NPSR a été préparée par le personnel de la Direction de l’apprentissage et des professions réglementées d’EDSC. La coordination, la facilitation et la production de la présente NPSR ont été effectuées par l’équipe d’élaboration des NPSR de la Division des métiers et de l’apprentissage. La Colombie-Britannique, la province hôte, a aussi pris part à l’élaboration de la présente NPSR.

Date de modification :