Hairstylist National Occupational Analysis (NOA) 2016

The Canadian Council of Directors of Apprenticeship (CCDA) recognizes this National Occupational Analysis (NOA) as the national standard for the occupation of Hairstylist.

2016 – Occupational Analyses Series

Disponible en français sous le titre : Coiffeur/coiffeuse

NOC: 6271

Designation Year: 1986

PDF download

Download the PDF version (1,085 KB) of this content.

General Information

Scope

“Hairstylist” is this trade’s official Red Seal occupational title approved by the CCDA. This analysis covers tasks performed by hairstylists whose occupational title has been identified by some provinces and territories of Canada under the following names:

NL

NS

PE

NB

QC

ON

MB

SK

AB

BC

NT

YT

NU

Hairstylist

x

x

x

x

x

x

x

x

x

x

x

x

x

Hairstylists shampoo, cut, style and chemically treat hair. They may also provide other services such as scalp treatments and hairpiece services. In some jurisdictions, hairstylists may also provide additional services such as basic natural nail services, basic facial care and ear piercing.

To be a successful hairstylist, one must incorporate technical and interpersonal skills. Continuous personal and professional development and client retention are crucial for long-term success. Hairstylists may recommend styles based on trends, clients’ physical features and lifestyle. Critical thinking, questioning and listening skills are important to serve their clientele. Depending on the workplace, recommending and selling hair and skin products may be done by the hairstylist.

According to jurisdictional requirements, hairstylist may work in hair salons, spas, barber shops, schools, hair replacement clinics, health care establishments, hotels, and in the cruise, fashion and entertainment industries. With experience, hairstylists may move into other positions such as salon managers, owners, fashion consultants, educators, platform artists and product sales representatives. Salons may specialize in services to either women or men, or both. Hairstylists may be remunerated through salary, commission, a combination of salary and commission or chair rental agreements. Some hairstylists work out of their residences where by-laws allow.

Hairstylists work with various tools and equipment including brushes, combs, shears, clippers, razors, hair dryers and thermal irons. They own most of their tools and must keep them sanitized, disinfected and maintained.

Some hairstylists specialize in areas such as cutting, hair extensions and chemical services. In addition, diversity across Canada requires specialization in ethnic specific services.

Hairstylists work in clean environments, though the chemicals that they use may irritate their skin and produce strong odours and fumes. Some physical considerations of this trade are long periods of standing, posture fatigue and repetitive motion. This may result in repetitive strain injury, back and foot pain, although ergonomic considerations may reduce these effects.

Key attributes for people entering this trade are: communication skills, personal interaction, self-motivation, coordination and manual dexterity, stamina, colour vision and depth perception. Respect, professionalism, teamwork, tact, discretion and creativity are important personal qualities. To keep current with trends and styles, hairstylists need to update their skills through trade shows and other educational venues. They must also understand and implement personal and public hygiene procedures to maintain workplace health and safety.

This analysis recognizes similarities or overlaps with the work of estheticians.

Continuous learning and upgrading on styles, techniques, products and tools are crucial to this trade for professional success.

Occupational Observations

The hairstyling industry is becoming more diversified in areas that are not part of the initial training. With clients becoming more educated about trends, hairstylists need to be motivated to stay current in the industry. Continuous learning is paramount to a hairstylist’s success.

While the industry attracts creative and artistic individuals, business skills are increasingly necessary to become a successful hairstylist.

With a movement towards health and wellness, hair products and services are adapting to meet this trend. The quality and diversity of products has improved for stylists and clients alike. This has encouraged salons to realize the importance of retail diversity for greater profits.

Salons are being designed to optimize the client experience and increase sales.

Digital technology is being used to track daily salon operations, advertise products and services, store client information and perform financial functions.

The Privacy Act is impacting the industry, further protecting the client and hairstylist.

Essential Skills Summary

Essential skills are needed for work, learning and life. They provide the foundation for learning all other skills and enable people to evolve with their jobs and adapt to workplace change.

Through extensive research, the Government of Canada and other national and international agencies have identified and validated nine essential skills. These skills are used in nearly every occupation and throughout daily life in different ways.

A series of CCDA-endorsed tools have been developed to support apprentices in their training and to be better prepared for a career in the trades. The tools can be used independently or with the assistance of a tradesperson, trainer, employer, teacher or mentor to:

  • understand how essential skills are used in the trades;
  • learn about individual essential skills strengths and areas for improvement; and
  • improve essential skills and increase success in an apprenticeship program.

Tools are available online or for order.

The application of these skills may be described throughout this document within the competency statements which support each subtask of the trade. The following are summaries of the requirements in each of the essential skills, taken from the essential skills profile.

Hairstylists read a variety of material including bulletins, manufacturers’ specifications, notices, labels, product inserts, client history profiles and forms. They read regulations and agreements outlining chair-rental contracts, salaries and commissions. Hairstylists may read city by-laws to determine licensing requirements and allowable business practices. They read articles and trade magazines to stay informed about industry trends and developments as well as descriptions of new products.

Hairstylists locate information on labels to determine ingredients, storage techniques and safety hazards. They also review trend releases and specifications on colour charts, diagrams and tables in order to identify processing times, mixing ratios and colouring agents. They consult client history profiles.

Hairstylists update client history profiles. They complete forms and also write reminders/notes to co-workers and clients.

Hairstylists use numeracy in a range of tasks. For example, they measure the amount of fluids using calibrated beakers and tubes. They also compare measurements of time, temperature and fluid volume to product specification and colouring charts. Hairstylists determine length of hair being cut. When scheduling appointments, they also determine amount of time needed to complete appointments and maximize productivity by taking into consideration condition of hair, service being delivered and time specified on product information sheet. They complete financial transactions and collect payment for hairstyling, services and products.

Hairstylists communicate with clients to determine customers’ need and hairstyling service required. They discuss a variety of topics with clients including fashion trends and hairstyle choices. Hairstylists also exchange information with coworkers, suppliers and supervisors. There may be a need to provide reassurance and resolve conflicts.

Hairstylists use thinking skills to select tools and products required to create specific hairstyles and to judge the performance of hair care products by considering customers’ hair. They use problem solving skills to meet client preferences. Hairstylists evaluate condition of hair and scalp to determine treatment and hairstyle options.

Hairstylists may use current technology to communicate with suppliers, access product manufacturers’ website and update client information. They may use calculators or point of sales systems to complete numeracy-related tasks. They may use social media for marketing themselves, networking with others, researching current trends, inspiring creativity and training/self-development. Hairstylists may use technology to create images of desired hairstyles.

Hairstylists may work independently or with other team members to perform tasks and optimize client experience in a professional manner. Hairstylists may also mentor apprentices.

Continuous learning is important for hairstylists due to ongoing changes in the industry. They also learn by speaking with co-workers and colleagues and by participating in training. Hairstylists may also learn by reading articles, attending educational events and shows, analyzing photographs and noting hairstyles worn by style leaders.

Acknowledgements

The Canadian Council of Directors of Apprenticeship (CCDA) and Employment and Social Development Canada (ESDC) wish to express sincere appreciation for the contribution of the many tradespersons, industrial establishments, professional associations, labour organizations, provincial and territorial government departments and agencies, and all others who contributed to this publication.

Special acknowledgement is extended by ESDC and the CCDA to the following representatives of the trade.

  • Tony Ambrogio - Ontario
  • Daniel Benoit - Quebec
  • Norma Brine - New Brunswick
  • Joseph Codispoti - British Columbia
  • Melanie Davignon - Yukon
  • Michelle Fortin - Northwest Territories
  • Jennifer Ghaney - Newfoundland and Labrador
  • Monia Grieco - Quebec
  • Amanda Malainey - Alberta
  • Lloyd Petrie - Nova Scotia
  • Erica Roberts - Prince Edward Island
  • Shannon Rudy - Manitoba
  • Laddie Wesolowski - Saskatchewan

This analysis was prepared by the Workplace Partnerships Directorate of ESDC. The coordinating, facilitating and processing of this analysis were undertaken by employees of the National Occupational Analysis (NOA) development team of the Trades and Apprenticeship Division. The host jurisdiction of Saskatchewan also participated in the development of this NOA.

Comments or questions about NOAs may be forwarded to:

Trades and Apprenticeship Division
Labour Market Integration Directorate
Employment and Social Development Canada
140 Promenade du Portage, Phase IV, 6th Floor
Gatineau, Quebec  K1A 0J9
Email: redseal-sceaurouge@hrsdc-rhdcc.gc.ca

Date modified:

Coiffeur/coiffeuse - Analyse nationale de profession

Le Conseil canadien des directeurs de l’apprentissage (CCDA) reconnaît cette Analyse nationale de profession (ANP) comme la norme nationale pour le métier de coiffeur/coiffeuse.

Série d'analyses de professions

Available in English under the title: Hairstylist

CNP: 6271

Année de désignation : 1986

Téléchargement PDF

Télécharger la version PDF (1 274 Ko) de ce contenu.

Information générale

Champ de compétence du coiffeur ou de la coiffeuse

« Coiffeur/coiffeuse » est le titre officiel Sceau rouge de ce métier tel qu’accepté par le CCDA. Cette analyse couvre les tâches exécutées par les coiffeurs et les coiffeuses dont le titre professionnel a été reconnu par certaines provinces et certains territoires du Canada sous les noms suivants :

NL

NS

PE

NB

QC

ON

MB

SK

AB

BC

NT

YT

NU

Coiffeur

x

Coiffeur ou coiffeuse

x

Coiffeur/coiffeuse

x

Coiffeur-styliste

x

Les coiffeurs et les coiffeuses shampouinent, coupent, coiffent et traitent les cheveux en utilisant des produits chimiques. Ils peuvent aussi fournir d’autres services comme les traitements du cuir chevelu et la pose de postiches. Dans certaines provinces et certains territoires, les coiffeurs et les coiffeuses peuvent aussi fournir des services complémentaires comme les services de base pour les ongles naturels, les traitements faciaux de base et le perçage des oreilles.

Pour être performants, les coiffeurs et les coiffeuses doivent intégrer des compétences techniques et interpersonnelles. Le développement continu sur les plans personnel et professionnel et le maintien de la clientèle sont des aspects essentiels pour leur réussite à long terme. Les coiffeurs et les coiffeuses peuvent recommander aux clients des styles selon les tendances, leurs traits physiques et leur style de vie. Avoir un sens critique, poser des questions et savoir écouter sont des habiletés importantes pour répondre aux besoins de la clientèle. Selon le milieu de travail, les coiffeurs et les coiffeuses peuvent recommander ou vendre des produits pour les cheveux ou pour la peau.

Selon les exigences de la province ou du territoire, les coiffeurs et les coiffeuses peuvent travailler dans des salons de coiffure, des spas, des salons de barbiers, des écoles, des cliniques spécialisées dans la greffe de cheveux, des établissements en soins de santé, des hôtels, sur des bateaux de croisière et dans les domaines du divertissement et de la mode, Avec l’expérience, les coiffeurs et les coiffeuses peuvent être gérants de salon de coiffure, propriétaires, consultants en mode, professeurs, stylistes de scène ou représentants commerciaux. Les salons peuvent se spécialiser dans les soins pour femmes, pour hommes ou pour les deux. Les coiffeurs et les coiffeuses peuvent recevoir un salaire, des commissions, une combinaison des deux ou être rémunérés selon une entente quant à la location d’une chaise. Lorsqu’un règlement municipal le permet, certains coiffeurs et certaines coiffeuses travaillent à la maison.

Les coiffeurs et les coiffeuses travaillent avec divers outils et de l’équipement varié, notamment des brosses, des peignes, des ciseaux, des tondeuses, des rasoirs, des séchoirs à cheveux et des fers. Ils possèdent la majorité de leurs outils et doivent les garder stérilisés, désinfectés et entretenus.

Certains coiffeurs et certaines coiffeuses se spécialisent dans des domaines comme la coupe, la pose de rallonges de cheveux et les services qui requièrent l’utilisation de produits chimiques. De plus, la diversité au Canada fait qu’une spécialisation dans des services propres aux ethnies peut être nécessaire.

Les coiffeurs et les coiffeuses travaillent dans des environnements de travail propres, malgré le fait que les produits chimiques qu’ils utilisent peuvent irriter leur peau et produire de fortes odeurs et émanations. Les longues périodes à se tenir debout, la fatigue due à la posture et à la répétition de certains mouvements pouvant entraîner des contusions répétitives, des maux de dos ou de pieds constituent certains aspects de ce métier sur le plan physique. Toutefois, en mettant l’accent sur l’ergonomie, il est possible de réduire ces effets.

Les aptitudes en communication, les compétences interpersonnelles, la motivation, la coordination motrice, la dextérité, l’endurance et une bonne perception des couleurs et de la profondeur font partie des attributs essentiels que doivent posséder les personnes désirant devenir coiffeurs ou coiffeuses. Le respect, le professionnalisme, le travail d’équipe, le tact, la discrétion et la créativité sont d’importantes qualités personnelles. Pour se garder à jour relativement aux tendances et aux styles, les coiffeurs et les coiffeuses doivent perfectionner leurs compétences lors de salons professionnels et d’autres activités de formation. Ils doivent également connaître et mettre en pratique les méthodes d’hygiène personnelle et publique afin d’assurer la santé et la sécurité dans le milieu de travail.

Dans cette analyse, il est reconnu qu’il y a des ressemblances ou des chevauchements avec le travail des esthéticiens et des esthéticiennes.

L’apprentissage continu, le perfectionnement des styles et des techniques ainsi que la connaissance des produits et des outils sont importants pour être performants dans ce métier.

Observations sur le métier

L’industrie de la coiffure se diversifie de plus en plus dans des secteurs qui ne font pas partie de la formation initiale. Parce que les clients sont plus au courant des tendances, les coiffeurs et les coiffeuses doivent être motivés à demeurer actuels dans l’industrie et la formation continue est primordiale pour qu’ils et qu’elles réussissent dans leur domaine.

L’industrie de la coiffure attire les personnes créatives et ayant une personnalité artistique. Toutefois, les compétences en affaires sont de plus en plus nécessaires pour réussir dans ce domaine.

Les services de coiffure et les produits pour les cheveux doivent être adaptés à la tendance de consommation de produits de santé et de bien-être. La qualité et la diversité des produits dont disposent les coiffeurs, les coiffeuses et leur clientèle ont augmenté, ce qui a amené les propriétaires de salon à accorder de l’importance à la diversification des produits pour la vente au détail dans le but d’accroître leurs profits.

Les salons sont conçus pour offrir aux clients une expérience optimale et pour augmenter les ventes.

La technologie numérique est utilisée pour faire le suivi des activités courantes des salons, publiciser les produits et les services, stocker les renseignements sur les clients et effectuer des opérations financières.

La Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels a une incidence sur l’industrie, puisqu’elle vise à mieux protéger les clients, les coiffeurs et les coiffeuses.

Sommaire des compétences essentielles

Les compétences essentielles sont nécessaires pour travailler, apprendre et mener des activités quotidiennes. Elles sont à la base de l’apprentissage de toutes les autres compétences et permettent aux gens d’évoluer avec leur emploi et de s’adapter aux changements du milieu de travail.

À la suite d’une recherche approfondie, le gouvernement du Canada et d’autres organismes nationaux et internationaux ont défini et validé neuf compétences essentielles. Ces compétences sont utilisées dans presque tous les métiers et dans la vie quotidienne sous diverses formes.

Des outils approuvés par le CCDA ont été développés pour aider les apprentis à suivre leur formation et à être mieux préparés pour leur carrière dans les métiers. Ces outils peuvent être utilisés avec ou sans l’aide d’une personne de métier, d’un formateur, d’un employeur, d’un enseignant ou d’un mentor pour :

  • comprendre comment les compétences essentielles sont utilisées dans un métier;
  • déterminer les forces en matière de compétences essentielles et les aspects à améliorer;
  • améliorer les compétences essentielles et les chances de réussir un programme d’apprentissage.

Les outils sont disponibles en ligne où il est aussi possible de les commander.

Le présent document comprend, sous forme d’énoncés de compétences pour chaque sous-tâche du métier, la description de la façon dont ces compétences sont mises en pratique. L’aperçu ci dessous des exigences pour chaque compétence essentielle est tiré du profil des compétences essentielles.

Les coiffeurs et les coiffeuses lisent divers documents comme des bulletins, des spécifications des fabricants, des avis, des étiquettes, des notices d’accompagnement de produit, des fiches de renseignements sur les clients et des formulaires. Ils lisent des règlements et des ententes relatifs aux contrats de location de chaises, aux salaires et aux commissions. Ils doivent lire, s’il y a lieu, des règlements municipaux pour connaître les exigences relatives aux permis et aux pratiques commerciales autorisées. Enfin, ils lisent des articles et des magazines spécialisés pour rester au courant des tendances et de l’évolution de l’industrie ainsi que des descriptions de nouveaux produits.

Les coiffeurs et les coiffeuses trouvent les renseignements sur les étiquettes pour connaître les composants, les méthodes d’entreposage et les risques que peuvent présenter les produits. Ils lisent également des communiqués sur les tendances et des spécifications sur les méchiers, les diagrammes et les tableaux pour connaître les temps de pause, les rapports de mélange et les colorants. Ils consultent également les fiches de renseignements sur les clients.

Les coiffeurs et les coiffeuses mettent à jour les fiches de renseignements sur les clients, remplissent des formulaires et rédigent des aide-mémoire et des notes à l’attention des collègues et des clients.

Les coiffeurs et les coiffeuses utilisent leurs compétences en calcul pour une multitude de tâches. Par exemple, ils mesurent la quantité de liquide avec des béchers et des tubes gradués. Ils comparent les mesures de durée, de température et de volume de liquide aux spécifications des produits et aux méchiers. Ils déterminent les longueurs de cheveux à couper et lorsqu’ils fixent des rendez-vous, ils déterminent également la durée nécessaire pour fournir les services prévus et maximiser la productivité en tenant compte de l’état des cheveux, du service à fournir et des délais indiqués sur les fiches techniques des produits. Enfin, ils effectuent des transactions financières et perçoivent les paiements pour les services de coiffure, d’autres services et les produits vendus.

Les coiffeurs et les coiffeuses communiquent avec les clients pour connaître leurs besoins et le service de coiffure requis. Ils discutent également de divers sujets avec les clients comme les tendances de la mode et les choix de coiffure. Ils partagent des renseignements avec les collègues, les fournisseurs et les superviseurs. Enfin, il se peut qu’ils doivent rassurer les clients et résoudre des conflits.

Les coiffeurs et les coiffeuses utilisent leur capacité de raisonnement pour choisir les outils et les produits nécessaires pour créer des coiffures particulières et juger de la qualité des produits de soins capillaires en tenant compte des cheveux des clients. Ils doivent faire preuve d’une aptitude à résoudre des problèmes pour satisfaire les préférences des clients. Enfin, ils évaluent l’état des cheveux et du cuir chevelu pour déterminer les options de traitement et de coiffure.

Les coiffeurs et les coiffeuses utilisent la technologie actuelle pour communiquer avec les fournisseurs, accéder aux sites Web des fabricants des produits et mettre à jour les renseignements sur les clients. Ils utilisent des calculatrices ou les systèmes de terminaux de point de vente des détaillants pour effectuer des tâches impliquant des calculs. Ils utilisent, s’il y a lieu, les médias sociaux pour se mettre en marché, réseauter, se renseigner sur les tendances actuelles, inspirer leur créativité, accéder à des cours de formation et s’autoperfectionner. Enfin, ils peuvent utiliser la technologie pour créer des images des coiffures souhaitées.

Les coiffeurs et les coiffeuses travaillent seuls ou avec des collègues pour accomplir leurs tâches et optimiser l’expérience des clients de façon professionnelle, et ils peuvent agir également comme mentor auprès des apprentis.

La formation continue est importante pour les coiffeurs et les coiffeuses en raison des changements constants dans l’industrie. Ils apprennent également en discutant avec les collègues, en participant à des formations, en lisant des articles, en assistant à des événements éducatifs et à des défilés de mode, en analysant des photographies et en observant les coiffures que portent les personnes bien en vue dans le domaine de la mode.

Remerciements

Le Conseil canadien des directeurs de l’apprentissage (CCDA) et Emploi et Développement social Canada (EDSC) tiennent à exprimer leur gratitude aux gens du métier, aux entreprises, aux associations professionnelles, aux syndicats, aux ministères et organismes gouvernementaux des provinces et des territoires, ainsi qu’à toute personne ayant participé à la production de la présente publication.

Le CCDA et EDSC désirent particulièrement exprimer leur reconnaissance aux gens du métier suivants :

  • Tony Ambrogio - Ontario
  • Daniel Benoit - Québec
  • Norma Brine - Nouveau-Brunswick
  • Joseph Codispoti - Colombie-Britannique
  • Melanie Davignon - Yukon
  • Michelle Fortin - Territoires du Nord-Ouest
  • Jennifer Ghaney - Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador
  • Monia Grieco - Québec
  • Amanda Malainey - Alberta
  • Lloyd Petrie - Nouvelle-Écosse
  • Erica Roberts - Île-du-Prince-Édouard
  • Shannon Rudy - Manitoba
  • Laddie Wesolowski - Saskatchewan

La présente analyse a été préparée par la Direction de l’intégration au marché du travail de RHDCC. La coordination, la facilitation et la production de l’analyse ont été effectuées par l’équipe d’élaboration des ANP de la Division des métiers et de l’apprentissage. La Saskatchewan, la province hôte, a également participée à l’élaboration de cette ANP.

Les commentaires et les questions au sujet de cette publication peuvent être transmis à :

Division des métiers et de l’apprentissage
Direction de l’intégration au marché du travail
Emploi et Développement social Canada
140, promenade du Portage, Portage IV, 6e étage
Gatineau (Québec)  K1A 0J9
Courriel : redseal-sceaurouge@hrsdc-rhdcc.gc.ca

Date de modification :