Trades in Canada

The skilled trades play an important role in our economy and our society. The trades touch almost every aspect of our lives from the homes we live in, to the cars we drive, to the food we eat. Approximately 1 in 5 employed Canadians work in the skilled trades in many sectors of the Canadian economy including construction, manufacturing, service and automotive.

In Canada, skilled trades-related training and certification are the responsibility of the provinces and territories (i.e. jurisdictions).  The federal government also plays an important role, including providing a variety of supports to apprentices and employers.

The Red Seal Program was originally established to support the mobility of apprentices and skilled tradespeople across Canada. Over the years, the Red Seal has become a nationally-recognized standard for skilled trades workers in Canada.

Provincial and Territorial Designated Trades

Each jurisdiction has its own laws respecting which trades are designated for apprenticeship training and certification. There are more than 400 trades designated by provinces and territories across Canada. Not all of these designated trades are Red Seal Trades.

Red Seal Trades

Today, the Red Seal Program develops national standards and examinations, in conjunction with industry, for certain trades that are common to most jurisdictions. Trades approved for Red Seal status are called “Red Seal Trades.” The Red Seal Program and the designation of Red Seal trades is the responsibility of the Canadian Council of Directors of Apprenticeship (CCDA).

In order for a trade to be considered for Red Seal status, it must meet certain criteria. For more information on this criteria and the process for designating a new Red Seal trade click here.

While Red Seal trades cover the majority (approximately 80%) of apprentices in Canada, a trade may not have Red Seal status in each jurisdiction.

Date modified:

Métiers spécialisés au Canada

Les métiers spécialisés occupent un rôle important dans notre économie et notre société. Les métiers touchent presque tous les aspects de nos vies, des maisons dans lesquelles nous vivons aux voitures que nous conduisons et à la nourriture que nous consommons. Environ un employé sur cinq au Canada travaille dans les métiers spécialisés dans de nombreux secteurs de l’économie canadienne, notamment la construction, la fabrication, les services et l’automobile.

Au Canada, la formation et la reconnaissance professionnelle dans les métiers spécialisés sont de compétences provinciales et territoriales. Le gouvernement fédéral joue également un rôle important, notamment en offrant toute une variété de mesures de soutien aux apprentis et aux employeurs.

Le Programme du Sceau rouge a d’abord été créé pour favoriser la mobilité des apprentis et des gens de métiers spécialisés au Canada. Au fil des années, le Sceau rouge est devenu la norme reconnue à l’échelle nationale pour les gens de métiers spécialisés au Canada.

Métiers désignés dans les provinces et les territoires

Chaque province et chaque territoire dictent leurs propres lois en ce qui concerne les métiers qui nécessitent une formation en apprentissage et une reconnaissance professionnelle. Il y a plus de 400 métiers désignés par les provinces et les territoires au Canada. Tous ces métiers désignés ne sont pas des métiers Sceau rouge.

Métiers Sceau rouge

Aujourd’hui, le personnel du Programme du Sceau rouge élabore des normes et des examens nationaux en collaboration avec l’industrie pour des métiers exercés dans la plupart des provinces et des territoires. Les métiers approuvés pour une désignation Sceau rouge sont appelés « métiers Sceau rouge ». Le Programme du Sceau rouge et la désignation Sceau rouge des métiers relèvent du Conseil canadien des directeurs de l’apprentissage (CCDA).

Pour qu’un métier soit considéré pour la désignation Sceau rouge, il doit répondre à certains critères. Pour en savoir plus sur les critères et le processus de désignation d’un nouveau métier Sceau rouge, cliquez ici.

Bien que les métiers Sceau rouge comprennent la majorité (environ 80 %) des apprentis au Canada, il se peut qu’un métier ne soit pas désigné Sceau rouge dans toutes les provinces et dans tous les territoires.

Date de modification :