Trades in Canada

In Canada, trades training and certification are the responsibility of the provinces and territories (known as jurisdictions). The Interprovincial Standards Red Seal Program was established to help harmonize training and certification requirements across Canada. Over the years, the Red Seal has become the national standard of excellence for skilled trades in Canada.

Provincial and Territorial Designated Trades

Jurisdictions each have their own laws about which trades are designated for apprenticeship training and certification within their borders. These are called “designated trades” and there are more than 400 across Canada.

Red Seal Program

The Interprovincial Standards Red Seal Program was established to create national standards for certain trades that are common to most jurisdictions. Trades approved for Red Seal status are called “designated Red Seal trades.” The Red Seal Program and the designation of trades as Red Seal is the responsibility of the Canadian Council of Directors of Apprenticeship (CCDA).

Red Seal Designations

A trade may not have Red Seal status in each jurisdiction due to jurisdictional legislative differences in terms of the scope or definition of the trade.

Red Seal designation is available to trades and occupations regardless of whether their workforces are unionized, non-unionized, or both.

Find out how to designate a new Red Seal trade.

Date modified: