Metal Fabricator (Fitter) National Occupational Analysis (NOA)

The Canadian Council of Directors of Apprenticeship (CCDA) recognizes this National Occupational Analysis (NOA) as the national standard for the occupation of Metal Fabricator (Fitter).

Occupational Analyses Series

Disponible en français sous le titre : Monteur-ajusteur/monteuse-ajusteuse de charpentes métalliques

NOC: 7235

Designation Year: 1991

PDF download

Download the PDF version (962 KB) of this content.

Red Seal Exam Self-Assessment Guide – Metal Fabricator (Fitter)

Use this self-assessment tool (PDF, 753 KB) to rate your own understanding and experience with the tasks of the trade that are on the Red Seal examination.

General Information

Scope

“Metal Fabricator (Fitter)” is this trade’s official Red Seal occupational title approved by the CCDA. This analysis covers tasks performed by metal fabricators (fitters) whose occupational title has been identified by some provinces and territories of Canada under the following names:

NL

NS

PE

NB

QC

ON

MB

SK

AB

BC

NT

YT

NU

Metal Fabricator (Fitter)

x

x

x

x

Metal Fabricator - Fitter

x

Steel Fabricator

x

x

Steel Fabricator (Fitter)

x

Steel Frame Assembler

x

Structural Steel and Plate Fitter

x

Welder/Fitter

x

“Metal Fabricator (Fitter)” is this trade’s official Red Seal occupational title approved by the CCDA. This analysis covers tasks performed by metal fabricators (fitters) whose occupational title has been identified by some prMetal fabricators (fitters) make and repair metal parts used in the construction of buildings, bridges, tanks, towers, boilers, pressure vessels and other structures and products. They develop patterns. They lay out, cut and fabricate structural steel, plate, and miscellaneous ferrous and non-ferrous metals for use in a wide variety of manufacturing and construction industries. They also assemble and fit metal sections and plates together to form complete units or sub-units such as frames, plates, girders and chutes that are used later in the assembly process.

Metal fabricators (fitters) must have the ability to interpret fabrication drawings and specifications. They select materials to accomplish their work. Metal fabricators (fitters) use tools and equipment such as press brakes, shears, plasma cutters, oxy-fuel cutting torches, grinders and drills to bend, cut, punch, drill or form metal components. They may also use computer numerical controlled (CNC) equipment. They fasten components together by using methods such as welding, bolting and riveting. They also use material handling and rigging, hoisting and lifting equipment to move materials and completed assemblies.

Skills important to metal fabricators (fitters) include the ability to visualize in three-dimensions, good coordination, mechanical aptitude, manual dexterity and the ability to perform work-related mathematical calculations.

There are risks associated with this trade such as working in close quarters, at heights, and with power tools, welding equipment and heavy materials.

Metal fabricators (fitters) usually work indoors in fabricating shops or factories. Some may also work outdoors fitting and fastening sub-assemblies. They may be employed by welding or ironworking companies, or by manufacturers of structural steel, boilers, heavy machinery and transportation equipment. They can also find employment in other sectors including maintenance, shipbuilding, fishing, agricultural equipment, railways, aviation, mining and the oil and gas industry.

This analysis recognizes similarities or overlaps with the work of welders, sheet metal workers, ironworkers, steamfitter/pipefitters, millwrights and boilermakers. Metal fabricators (fitters) often hold welding certification.

With experience, metal fabricators (fitters) may act as mentors and trainers to apprentices in the trade. They may advance to positions such as lead hand, supervisor, quality assurance/quality control inspector, or contract manager, or set up their own shops.

Occupational Observations

New technologies introduced to the workplace include water jet and laser cutting. This equipment provides more detailed, accurate cuts on the parts used by metal fabricators (fitters). As the high cost of this equipment comes down, more shops are willing to invest in this technology. However, specialized shops often provide these services to other fabrication shops.

The use of CNC equipment such as plate rolls and press brakes is becoming more prevalent. The use of CNC equipment and computer-assisted design (CAD) software increases the efficiency and accuracy of the fabrication process.

Familiarity with the range of alloys available is becoming more important in this trade. Alloys are being used more often because of factors such as durability, cost effectiveness and weight.

To reduce accidents and promote awareness, safety regulations are becoming more stringent, resulting in more safety training and certification. Environmental concerns and awareness have increased.

Essential Skills Summary

Essential skills are needed for work, learning and life. They provide the foundation for learning all other skills and enable people to evolve with their jobs and adapt to workplace change.

Through extensive research, the Government of Canada and other national and international agencies have identified and validated nine essential skills. These skills are used in nearly every occupation and throughout daily life in different ways.

A series of CCDA-endorsed tools have been developed to support apprentices in their training and to be better prepared for a career in the trades. The tools can be used independently or with the assistance of a tradesperson, trainer, employer, teacher or mentor to:

  • understand how essential skills are used in the trades;
  • learn about individual essential skills strengths and areas for improvement; and
  • improve essential skills and increase success in an apprenticeship program.

The tools are available online or for order.

The essential skills profile for the metal fabricator (fitter) trade indicates that the most important essential skills are document use, numeracy, thinking (problem solving) and communication.

The application of these skills may be described throughout this document within the competency statements which support each subtask of the trade. The following are summaries of the requirements in each of the essential skills.

Metal fabricators (fitters) require reading skills to gather information from forms and labels. They also need to read to understand more complex texts such as equipment and policy and procedure manuals, specifications, codes and standards.

Metal fabricators (fitters) locate and interpret information in several types of documents such as labels, signs, forms, lists, tables, technical drawings and specifications. They interpret fabrication drawings to determine how ferrous and non-ferrous materials should be cut and assembled by integrating plan views, elevation and section drawings as well as synthesizing information from other prints about adjacent components of the fabrication. Metal fabricators (fitters) also prepare documents such as sketches and forms.

Writing skills are used by metal fabricators (fitters) to write short texts. Examples of written work include logbook entries, quality assurance reports and production problem reports.

Metal fabricators (fitters) discuss equipment maintenance and repair with suppliers, and specifications and plans with co workers, supervisors and general contractors. They may supervise and direct the work of apprentices. Because of constant noise, metal fabricators (fitters) may also communicate through hand signals, gestures and sometimes notes.

Numeracy skills are very important in the everyday work of metal fabricators (fitters). Mathematical skills are used in taking measurements, doing material layout, using formulas, preparing cut lists and preparing jigs according to specifications in fabrication drawings.

Metal fabricator (fitters) may suggest modifications to project designs to correct flaws, for example when fabrication drawing specifications do not take into account the space needed for welds. They need the ability to think spatially and visualize in three dimensions. On the job they are required to problem solve on a regular basis, such as trouble shooting equipment problems and making repairs.

Metal fabricators (fitters) generally work independently to fabricate and fit metal structures following fabrication drawing specifications, though they may work with others to complete large projects. Metal fabricators (fitters) co-ordinate work with supervisors, co-workers, quality control staff and with workers from other trades such as millwrights or welders.

Metal fabricators (fitters) may input parameters for CNC equipment such as press brakes or cutting tables. They may also use computer technology during pattern development. They may need to have a basic knowledge of CAD software to prepare layouts and interpret plans and drawings.

Metal fabricators (fitters) have a need to engage in ongoing learning to acquire information about health and safety, new products, metal fabrication procedures, metal properties and quality assurance standards. They must maintain skills and certification according to industry and jurisdictional regulatory authorities. New learning is acquired as part of regular work activities, by participating in industry specific training sessions, reading trade journals and talking to other metal fabricators (fitters).

Acknowledgements

The CCDA and HRSDC wish to express sincere appreciation for the contribution of the many tradespersons, industrial establishments, professional associations, labour organizations, provincial and territorial government departments and agencies, and all others who contributed to this publication.

Special acknowledgement is extended by HRSDC and the CCDA to the following representatives from the trade.

  • Brent Bolan - Saskatchewan
  • Joey Cain - Prince Edward Island
  • Doug Carr - Manitoba
  • Gordon Hunter - Alberta
  • Matthew McCarron - Nova Scotia
  • Jeff Soltesz - British Columbia
  • Ronald Stiles - New Brunswick
  • Dan Tremblay - Ontario
  • Philip White - International Association of Bridge, Structural, Ornamental and Reinforcing Iron Workers Union

This analysis was prepared by the Labour Market Integration Directorate of HRSDC. The coordinating, facilitating and processing of this analysis were undertaken by employees of the NOA development team of the Trades and Apprenticeship Division. The host jurisdiction of New Brunswick also participated in the development of this NOA.

Comments or questions about NOAs may be forwarded to:

Trades and Apprenticeship Division
Labour Market Integration Directorate
Employment and Social Development Canada
140 Promenade du Portage, Phase IV, 6th Floor
Gatineau, Quebec  K1A 0J9
Email: redseal-sceaurouge@hrsdc-rhdcc.gc.ca

Date modified:

Monteur-ajusteur/monteuse-ajusteuse de charpentes métalliques - analyse nationales de profession

Le Conseil canadien des directeurs de l’apprentissage (CCDA) reconnaît la présente analyse comme la norme nationale pour la profession (ANP) de monteur-ajusteur ou monteuse-ajusteuse de charpentes métalliques.

Série d'analyses de professions

Available in English under the title: Metal Fabricator (Fitter)

CNP: 7235

Année de désignation : 1991

Téléchargement PDF

Télécharger la version PDF (1 003 Ko) de ce contenu.

Information générale

Champ de compétence du monteur ou de la monteuse de lignes sous tension

« Monteur-ajusteur/monteuse-ajusteuse de charpentes métalliques » est le titre officiel Sceau rouge de ce métier approuvé par le CCDA. Cette analyse couvre les tâches exécutées par les monteurs-ajusteurs ou monteuses-ajusteuses de charpentes métalliques dont le titre professionnel a été reconnu par certaines provinces et par certains territoires sous les noms suivants :

NL

NS

PE

NB

QC

ON

MB

SK

AB

BC

NT

YT

NU

Assembleur/assembleuse de charpentes métalliques

x

Charpentier en métaux

x

Métallurgiste (ajusteur)

x

Monteur-ajusteur ou monteuse-ajusteuse de charpentes métalliques

x

Soudeur-monteur/ soudeuse-monteuse

x

Les monteurs-ajusteurs et les monteuses-ajusteuses de charpentes métalliques fabriquent et réparent des pièces de métal utilisées dans la construction de bâtiments, de ponts, de réservoirs, de tours, de chaudières, de vaisseaux sous pression et d’autres structures et produits. Ils créent des modèles, effectuent le traçage, coupent et fabriquent de l’acier de construction, des tôles fortes et des métaux ferreux et non ferreux utilisés dans diverses usines de fabrication et de construction. Ils assemblent et ajustent également des tôles fortes et des sections de métal pour former des sous-ensembles ou ensembles complets comme des charpentes, des tôles fortes, des poutres et des goulottes qui seront utilisés ultérieurement dans le processus d’assemblage.

Les monteurs-ajusteurs et les monteuses-ajusteuses de charpentes métalliques doivent pouvoir comprendre des dessins de fabrication et des spécifications. Ils choississent les matériaux nécessaires pour accomplir leur travail. Les monteurs-ajusteurs et les monteuses-ajusteuses de charpentes métalliques utilisent des outils et de l’équipement comme des presses-plieuses, des cisailles, des appareils de découpe au plasma, des chalumeaux coupeurs au gaz, des meules et des perceuses pour plier, couper, perforer, percer ou former des composants métalliques. Ils peuvent aussi utiliser de l’équipement à commande numérique par ordinateur (CNC). Ils fixent les composants ensemble à l’aide de méthodes comme le soudage, le boulonnage et le rivetage. Ils utilisent aussi de l’équipement de manutention et de gréage, de hissage et de levage pour déplacer des matériaux et des ensembles finis.

Pour être un monteur-ajusteur ou une monteuse-ajusteuse de charpentes métalliques, il est important de posséder des compétences comme une capacité de visualiser les pièces en trois dimensions, une bonne coordination, des aptitudes mécanique, de la dextérité et être en mesure d’effectuer des calculs mathématiques propres à leur travail.

Il y a des risques associés à ce métier comme le travail dans des enceintes restreintes, en hauteur, et la manipulation d‘outils mécaniques, d’équipement de soudage et de matériaux lourds.

Les monteurs-ajusteurs et les monteuses-ajusteuses de charpentes métalliques travaillent habituellement à l’intérieur dans des ateliers ou des usines de transformation, mais certains peuvent travailler à l’extérieur pour ajuster et fixer des sous-ensembles. Ils peuvent occuper un poste dans une entreprise de soudage ou de ferronnerie ou travailler pour un fabricant de structures d’acier, de chaudières, de machinerie lourde ou d’équipement de transport. Ils peuvent également trouver un emploi dans d’autres secteurs comme l’entretien, la construction navale, la fabrication d’équipement pour la pêche et l’agriculture, le transport ferroviaire, l’aviation, le secteur minier et l’industrie pétrolière et gazière.

La présente analyse reconnaît les similitudes ou les chevauchements avec les fonctions de soudeurs et de soudeuses, de ferblantiers et de ferblantières, de monteurs et de monteuses de charpentes en acier, de monteurs et de monteuses d’appareils de chauffage, de mécaniciens industriels et de mécaniciennes industrielles (de chantier), et de chaudronniers et de chaudronnières. Les monteurs-ajusteurs et les monteuses-ajusteuses de charpentes métalliques détiennent souvent une certification en soudure.

Avec l’expérience, les monteurs-ajusteurs et les monteuses-ajusteuses de charpentes métalliques peuvent agir à titre de mentors ou de formateurs pour les apprentis du métier. Ils peuvent accéder à des postes comme ceux de chef d’équipe, de superviseur, d’inspecteur en assurance de la qualité et en contrôle de la qualité, ou de gestionnaire de contrats. Ils peuvent même ouvrir leur propre atelier.

Observations sur le métier

De nouvelles technologies ont fait leur apparition dans les milieux de travail, comme la coupe par jets d’eau ou par laser. Ce type d’équipement permet une coupe plus précise et plus détaillée des pièces utilisées par les monteurs-ajusteurs et les monteuses-ajusteuses de charpentes métalliques. Puisque le coût élevé de cet équipement est à la baisse, de plus en plus d’ateliers sont prêts à investir dans cette technologie. Cependant, des ateliers spécialisés offrent souvent ces services à d’autres ateliers de fabrication.

L’utilisation d’équipement à CNC comme des cintreuses à plaques et des presses-plieuses est de plus en plus courante. L’utilisation d’équipement CNC et de logiciels de conception assistée par ordinateur (CAO) augmente l’efficacité et la précision des processus de fabrication.

La connaissance de la gamme d’alliages offerts occupe une place de plus en plus importante dans ce métier. Les alliages sont plus fréquemment utilisés en raison de leur durabilité, de leur rapport coût-efficacité et de leur poids.

Pour réduire le nombre d’accidents et pour sensibiliser les travailleurs à la sécurité, les règlements en matière de sécurité sont maintenant plus sévères. Les préoccupations et la sensibilisation en matière d’environnement se sont accrues.

Sommaire des compétences essentielles

Les compétences essentielles sont les compétences nécessaires pour vivre, pour apprendre et pour travailler. Elles sont à la base de l’apprentissage de toutes les autres compétences et permettent aux gens d’évoluer avec leur emploi et de s’adapter aux changements du milieu du travail.

Grâce à des recherches approfondies, le gouvernement du Canada et d’autres organismes nationaux et internationaux ont déterminé et validé neuf compétences essentielles. Ces compétences sont mises en application dans presque toutes les professions et dans la vie quotidienne sous diverses formes.

Une série d’outils approuvés par le CCDA ont été élaborés pour aider les apprentis à suivre leur formation et à être mieux préparés pour leur carrière dans les métiers. Les outils peuvent être utilisés avec ou sans l’assistance d’une personne de métier, d’un formateur, d’un employeur, d’un enseignant, ou d’un moniteur pour :

  • comprendre comment les compétences essentielles sont utilisées dans un métier;
  • déterminer les forces en matière de compétences essentielles et les aspects à améliorer;
  • améliorer les compétences essentielles et les chances de réussir un programme d’apprentissage.

Les outils sont disponibles en ligne où il est aussi possible de les commander.

Le sommaire des compétences essentielles pour le métier de monteur-ajusteur ou monteuse‑ajusteuse de charpentes métalliques indique que les compétences essentielles les plus importantes sont l’utilisation des documents, le calcul, la capacité de raisonnement (résolution de problèmes) et l’aptitude à communiquer.

Le présent document peut renfermer une description de la mise en pratique de ces compétences à l’intérieur des énoncés de compétences servant à appuyer chaque sous-tâche du métier. Un aperçu des exigences pour chaque compétence essentielle tiré des profils des compétences essentielles suit.

Les monteurs-ajusteurs et les monteuses-ajusteuses de charpentes métalliques doivent avoir des compétences en lecture pour recueillir l’information contenue dans les formulaires et les étiquettes. Ils doivent également pouvoir lire et comprendre des textes plus complexes comme les manuels de l’équipement et les manuels sur les politiques et les procédures, les spécifications, les codes et les normes.

Les monteurs-ajusteurs et les monteuses-ajusteuses de charpentes métalliques repèrent et lisent l’information contenue dans différents types de documents comme des étiquettes, des enseignes, des formulaires, des listes, des tableaux, des dessins techniques et des spécifications. Ils lisent des dessins de fabrication pour déterminer la façon dont les matériaux ferreux et non ferreux doivent être coupés et assemblés en intégrant des plans de vue en plan, des plans d’élévation et des plans de vue en coupe. Ils font également la synthèse de l’information contenue dans d’autres plans à propos de composants adjacents à l’élément fabriqué. Les monteurs-ajusteurs et les monteuses-ajusteuses de charpentes métalliques préparent également des documents comme des croquis et des formulaires.

Les monteurs-ajusteurs et les monteuses-ajusteuses utilisent leurs compétences en rédaction pour rédiger de courts textes. Les exemples de travaux d’écriture comprennent des entrées dans les registres de travail, des rapports d’assurance de la qualité et des rapports de problèmes liés à la production.

Les monteurs-ajusteurs et les monteuses-ajusteuses de charpentes métalliques discutent de l’entretien et de la réparation de l’équipement avec les fournisseurs, et des spécifications et des plans avec les collègues, les superviseurs et les entrepreneurs généraux. Ils peuvent être appelés à superviser et à diriger le travail des apprentis. En raison du bruit constant, les monteurs‑ajusteurs et les monteuses-ajusteuses peuvent également devoir communiquer par signaux manuels, par gestes et parfois par notes.

Les compétences en calcul sont très importantes dans les tâches quotidiennes des monteurs‑ajusteurs et des monteuses-ajusteuses de charpentes métalliques. Les compétences en mathématiques sont utilisées dans la prise de mesures, le traçage des matériaux, l’utilisation de formules, la préparation de listes de coupe et la préparation de gabarits de montage, conformément aux spécifications des dessins de fabrication.

Les monteurs-ajusteurs et les monteuses-ajusteuses de charpentes métalliques peuvent suggérer des modifications aux conceptions des projets pour corriger des défauts, par exemple lorsque les spécifications des dessins de fabrication ne tiennent pas compte de l’espace requis pour les soudures. Ils doivent avoir un bon raisonnement spatial et pouvoir visualiser des objets en trois dimensions. Dans le cadre de leur travail, ils doivent régulièrement résoudre des problèmes, par exemple diagnostiquer les problèmes liés à l’équipement et effectuer des réparations.

De façon générale, les monteurs-ajusteurs et les monteuses-ajusteuses de charpentes métalliques travaillent seuls à la fabrication et à l’ajustement de charpentes métalliques en suivant les spécifications des dessins de fabrication, mais ils peuvent également travailler avec d’autres personnes sur des projets d’envergure. Les monteurs-ajusteurs et les monteuses-ajusteuses coordonnent leur travail avec celui des superviseurs, des collègues, du personnel responsable du contrôle de la qualité et d’autres gens de métier comme les mécaniciens industriels/mécaniciennes industrielles (de chantier) ou les soudeurs/soudeuses.

Les monteurs-ajusteurs et les monteuses-ajusteuses de charpentes métalliques pourraient devoir entrer des paramètres pour l’équipement CNC comme des presses-plieuses ou des tables de coupe. Ils pourraient également devoir utiliser la technologie informatique durant l’étape de développement de modèles. Ils pourraient devoir avoir une connaissance de base des logiciels CAO pour préparer les tracés et lire des plans et des dessins.

Les monteurs-ajusteurs et les monteuses-ajusteuses de charpentes métalliques doivent suivre de la formation continue pour acquérir de l’information relative à la santé et à la sécurité, aux nouveaux produits, aux procédures de transformation des métaux, aux propriétés des métaux et aux normes d’assurances de la qualité. Ils doivent maintenir leurs compétences et leur titre professionnel, selon les exigences des organismes de réglementation de l’industrie et de la province ou du territoire. Le nouvel apprentissage est acquis par le biais des tâches de travail habituelles, mais également en participant à des séances de formation propres à l’industrie, en lisant des revues spécialisées et en discutant avec d’autres monteurs-ajusteurs et monteuses‑ajusteuses de charpentes métalliques.

Remerciements

Le CCDA et RHDCC tiennent à exprimer leur gratitude aux gens du métier, aux entreprises, aux associations professionnelles, aux syndicats, aux ministères et organismes gouvernementaux des provinces et des territoires et à toute autre personne ayant participé à la production de la présente publication.

Le CCDA et RHDCC désirent particulièrement exprimer leur reconnaissance aux gens du métier suivants :

  • Brent Bolan - Saskatchewan
  • Joey Cain - Île-du-Prince-Édouard
  • Doug Carr - Manitoba
  • Gordon Hunter - Alberta
  • Matthew McCarron - Nouvelle-Écosse
  • Jeff Soltesz - Colombie-Britannique
  • Ronald Stiles - Nouveau-Brunswick
  • Dan Tremblay - Ontario
  • Philip White - International Association of Bridge, Structural, Ornamental and Reinforcing Iron Workers Union

La présente analyse a été préparée par la Direction de l’intégration au marché du travail de RHDCC. La coordination, la facilitation et la production de l’analyse ont été effectuées par l’équipe d’élaboration des ANP de la Division des métiers et de l’apprentissage. Le Nouveau Brunswick, la province hôte, a également participé à l’élaboration de cette ANP.

Les commentaires et les questions au sujet de cette publication peuvent être transmis à :

Division des métiers et de l’apprentissage
Direction de l’intégration au marché du travail
Emploi et Développement social Canada
140, promenade du Portage, Portage IV, 6e étage
Gatineau (Québec)  K1A 0J9
Courriel : redseal-sceaurouge@hrsdc-rhdcc.gc.ca

Date de modification :