Red Seal NOA video transcript

The Interprovincial Standards Red Seal Program was established more than 50 years ago to provide greater mobility across Canada for skilled tradespeople. Today, those involved in industry know that the Red Seal Program marks a standard of excellence in the skilled trades—a standard that is recognized across Canada.

Most trade stakeholders also know that National Occupational Analyses (or NOAs) and Interprovincial Red Seal Examinations are the core products of the Red Seal Program. NOAs are the national standards for Red Seal trades. Interprovincial examinations are based on these standards and are used by provinces and territories as the final assessment before issuing a Red Seal endorsement.

Less well known, however, is the close and critical partnership between industry and the federal, provincial, and territorial governments that drives the development of both the NOAs and Red Seal examinations.

Here’s one example: Governments in each province and territory work collaboratively with industry to nominate trade experts to participate in workshops to develop Red Seal standards and examinations.

Simply put, this partnership between industry and government is the engine that drives the Red Seal Program.

A closer look at the Red Seal Program’s National Occupational Analyses reinforces the point.

To ensure that Red Seal standards closely reflect the requirements of today’s workplace, the NOA for each trade is updated on a regular basis. This rigorous process includes extensive input from industry representatives to carefully identify:

The development process to collect this information begins with a comprehensive workshop that brings together industry subject matter experts from across the country.  These are “on-the-tools” experts who work in the trade every day… You can’t find a better source of accurate and current information.

Following the workshop, each NOA is thoroughly reviewed for accuracy and completeness by even more experts across the country, through provincial and territorial trade committees as well as national stakeholder groups.

The NOA development process, from start to finish, requires pan-Canadian consultation to ensure that the NOA covers the entire scope of the trade as practiced across the country.

When completed, NOAs are used by:

Because industry is constantly evolving, so does the Red Seal – with innovations such as competency statements, integration of essential skills, and more efficient validation processes.

How does an NOA come together? Think of a complex factory.

The Red Seal Program is a longstanding success largely because dedicated skilled trades experts from across the country have been proud to volunteer in the NOA factory.

The NOA development process takes approximately 12 months and consists of a number of important phases:

Throughout the process, input comes from trade experts at work in the provinces and territories and from national groups.
In some cases, an industry review process allows the NOA to be updated in less time. Whichever process is used, however, the goal remains the same: to convene with trade experts and gather up-to-date information on practices and trends, ensuring that Red Seal standards remain current in each of the program’s designated trades.
Development activities are posted on the Red Seal Web site. NOAs are also available to the general public through this Web site.

Once the NOA is complete, it will initiate the development of a trade’s Interprovincial Red Seal examination and will serve as its base document.

The Interprovincial Standards Red Seal Program is an excellent example of teamwork between industry and governments —where a rigorous and methodical approach to developing standards ensures that our skilled tradespeople are of the highest calibre, clear across Canada.

For more information on the Red Seal Program visit www.red-seal.ca.

Date modified:

Transcription du vidéo Sceau rouge - ANP

Le Programme des normes interprovinciales Sceau rouge a été créé il y a plus de 50 ans afin d’assurer une plus grande mobilité des travailleurs spécialisés partout au Canada. Aujourd’hui, les membres de l’industrie savent que le Sceau rouge est une norme d’excellence dans les métiers spécialisés, une norme reconnue à travers le pays.

La plupart des intervenants savent également que les analyses nationales de profession (ou les ANP) et les examens interprovinciaux du Sceau rouge sont les principaux produits du programme du Sceau rouge. Les ANP sont les normes nationales pour les métiers désignés Sceau rouge. Les examens interprovinciaux sont élaborés en fonction de ces normes et sont utilisés par les provinces et les territoires comme évaluation finale permettant d’émettre la mention Sceau rouge.

Moins connu, cependant, est le partenariat étroit et essentiel entre l’industrie et les gouvernements fédéral, provinciaux et territoriaux, sur lequel se fonde l’élaboration des ANP et des examens interprovinciaux du Sceau rouge.

Voici un exemple : les gouvernements provinciaux et territoriaux travaillent en étroite collaboration avec l’industrie pour nommer des experts de métiers qui participeront aux ateliers d’élaboration des normes et des examens du Sceau rouge.

Bref, ce partenariat entre l’industrie et les gouvernements est le moteur qui propulse le programme du Sceau rouge.

Une étude plus approfondie des analyses nationales de profession du Sceau rouge renforce ce point.

Afin de s’assurer que les normes du Sceau rouge reflètent les réalités du milieu de travail actuel, l’ANP de chaque métier est mise à jour régulièrement. Ce processus rigoureux inclut une contribution de la part des représentants de l’industrie, afin d’établir clairement les éléments suivants :

Le processus d’élaboration visant à recueillir cette information commence par un atelier rassemblant des experts de métier de partout au Canada. Étant donné que ces experts pratiquent le métier au quotidien, c’est le meilleur moyen d’obtenir de l’information qui soit exacte et à jour.

Après l’atelier, chaque ANP est révisée en profondeur par un plus grand nombre d’experts de tout le pays pour déterminer si elle est exacte et complète. Cette révision est effectuée par des comités de métiers provinciaux et territoriaux et par des groupes d’intervenants nationaux.

Du début à la fin du processus d’élaboration d’une ANP, il est nécessaire d’obtenir un consensus pancanadien afin de s’assurer que l’ANP couvre tout le champ de compétence du métier tel qu’il est exercé d’un bout à l’autre du pays.

Les ANP sont utilisées par : 

Parce que l’industrie évolue constamment, le Sceau rouge évolue lui aussi, par des innovations comme l’ajout d‘énoncés de compétences, l’intégration des compétences essentielles et l’amélioration des processus de validation.

Comment élabore-t-on une ANP? Pensez au fonctionnement d’une usine.

La réussite durable du programme du Sceau rouge est attribuable à l’engagement d’experts de métier de tout le pays, fiers de contribuer au travail de l’usine des ANP.

Voici les différentes étapes du processus d’élaboration d’une ANP, qui s’étale sur environ 12 mois :

Tout au long du processus, toute rétroaction provient des experts du métier des provinces et territoires, et des groupes nationaux.

Dans certains cas, un processus de révision plus bref des membres de l’industrie permet de mettre à jour les ANP en moins de temps. Cependant, quel que soit le processus utilisé, l’objectif reste le même : consulter les experts de métier afin de recueillir de l’information à jour sur les pratiques et les tendances, et ainsi, assurer la pertinence de la norme du Sceau rouge dans chacun des métiers désignés du programme.

Les ANP, ainsi que leur statut d’élaboration, sont affichés sur le site Web du Sceau rouge, à la disposition du public.

Une fois l’ANP terminée, l’élaboration de l’examen interprovincial est enclenchée. L’ANP sert de document de base à l’examen.

Le programme du Sceau rouge est un excellent exemple du travail d’équipe  entre l’industrie et les gouvernements. C’est grâce à l’approche rigoureuse et méthodique qui est utilisée pour élaborer les normes du Sceau rouge que nous pouvons garantir une main-d’œuvre hautement qualifiée, d’un océan à l’autre.

Pour plus de renseignements sur le programme du Sceau rouge, visitez www.sceau-rouge.ca.

Date de modification :