Foreign Qualifications Recognition

The Foreign Qualifications Recognition initiative aims to develop effective and consistent processes for evaluating trade qualifications and work experience obtained outside of Canada. This provincial, territorial and federal initiative was launched by the Canadian Council of Directors of Apprenticeship (CCDA) in 2013.

Objectives

To design and implement an optimal process and standards framework that is timely, fair, transparent and consistent across all jurisdictions for assessing the eligibility of internationally trained workers to become certified in all Red Seal trades.

Current Processes

Assessing the trades experience and skills obtained outside Canada can be a challenging task.

Currently, all provinces and territories assess applicants for the Red Seal trades who have been trained outside of Canada. They review an applicant’s work experience to ensure that it matches the requirements of the Red Seal trade. If similar, the applicant is invited to write the Red Seal examination and, once successful, can become certified.

Although the assessment processes are similar across Canada, each jurisdiction uses slightly different approaches to authenticate work experience. There are also differences in terms of documentation requirements and exact examination eligibility and certification requirements.

Project Outline

To meet the CCDA’s project objectives, a task team was formed to bring together expertise from across the country. Their tasks are as follows:

In 2013, the task team developed an “Optimal Assessment Process model”. This model lays out the main elements of an effective and consistent foreign qualifications recognition process.

The task team is now developing and testing various components of the optimal assessment process.

Date modified:

Reconnaissance des qualifications professionnelles acquises à l’étranger

L’Initiative pour la reconnaissance des qualifications professionnelles acquises à l’étranger vise l’élaboration d’un processus efficace et uniforme d’évaluation des compétences et de l’expérience professionnelles acquises par les gens de métier à l’extérieur du Canada. Cette initiative provinciale, territoriale et fédérale a été lancée en 2013 par le Conseil canadien des directeurs de l’apprentissage (CCDA).

Objectifs

Concevoir et mettre en œuvre un cadre optimal de processus et de normes pertinent, équitable, transparent et uniforme d’une administration à l’autre, pour l’évaluation de l’admissibilité des gens de métier formés à l’étranger à la reconnaissance professionnelle dans tous les métiers désignés Sceau rouge.

Processus actuel

L’évaluation de l’expérience et des compétences des gens de métier formés à l’extérieur du Canada peut s’avérer difficile.

Actuellement, les demandeurs d’évaluation formés à l’extérieur du Canada sont évalués pour les métiers désignés Sceau rouge par l’ensemble des provinces et des territoires. L’expérience de travail des demandeurs est examinée afin de s’assurer qu’elle correspond aux exigences des métiers désignés Sceau rouge. Si cette expérience est similaire, le demandeur est invité à passer l’examen écrit du Sceau rouge et il obtiendra la mention Sceau rouge s’il le réussit.

Bien que les processus d’évaluation soient similaires partout au Canada, chaque province et chaque territoire utilise une approche qui diffère légèrement de celles des autres pour valider l’expérience de travail. Il existe également des différences entre les documents requis, les critères exacts d’admissibilité aux examens et les exigences relatives à la reconnaissance professionnelle.

Description du projet

Pour atteindre les objectifs du projet du CCDA, on a mis sur pied un groupe de travail réunissant des experts de partout au pays et on lui a confié les tâches suivantes :

En 2013, le groupe de travail a élaboré un « modèle de processus d’évaluation optimale ». Ce modèle précise les principaux éléments d’un processus efficace et uniforme de reconnaissance des qualifications professionnelles acquises à l’étranger.

L’équipe de travail procède maintenant à l’élaboration et à l’essai de divers éléments du processus optimal d’évaluation.

Date de modification :