Red Seal Program

The Red Seal Program, formally known as the Interprovincial Standards Red Seal Program, is a program that sets common standards to assess the skills of tradespeople across Canada. Industry is heavily involved in developing the national standard for each trade. It is a partnership between the federal government and provinces and territories, which are responsible for apprenticeship training and trade certification in their jurisdictions.

Tradespersons who have successfully passed the Red Seal examination receive a Red Seal endorsement on their provincial/territorial trade certificate. The Red Seal, when affixed to a provincial or territorial trade certificate, indicates that a tradesperson has demonstrated the knowledge required for the national standard in that trade. The Red Seal endorsement promotes excellence to employers, instills pride in skilled workers, and facilitates labour mobility. Certification and Red Seal endorsement of a tradesperson can be confirmed with the provincial or territorial apprenticeship authority that issued the Red Seal.

The Red Seal Program was created following the first National Conference on Apprenticeship in Trades and Industries, which was held in Ottawa in 1952. Participants recommended that the provinces and territories ask the federal government to work with their apprenticeship committees and officials to prepare standards for the skilled trades.

Who Administers the Program?

Provinces and territories are responsible for apprenticeship training and trade certification in their respective jurisdictions, including the administration of the Red Seal Program in their jurisdictions (for example, Red Seal examinations). Most provinces and territories use the Red Seal examination as the final certification exam in designated Red Seal trades. The Canadian Council of Directors of Apprenticeship (CCDA) is responsible for the Red Seal Program. All provinces and territories and the federal government participate as members of the CCDA.

Employment and Social Development Canada (ESDC) sponsors a Red Seal Secretariat to provide strategic and secretariat support to the CCDA and the Red Seal program.

For a list of current Red Seal trades click here.

Red Seal Endorsement (RSE) Acronym

In 2015, the Canadian Council of Directors of Apprenticeship (CCDA) announced the official recognition of the “RSE” acronym (Red Seal Endorsement) for qualified skilled journeypersons.

The CCDA believes that an officially recognized acronym for skilled trades professionals provides qualified individuals with a way to easily reflect that they have passed the Red Seal examination for their trade, while at the same time promoting the Red Seal Program. The RSE acronym is used by journeypersons who have obtained a Red Seal endorsement on their provincial or territorial trade certificate. Anyone holding a valid Red Seal endorsement may use RSE on their business cards and signatures (e.g. John or Jane Doe, RSE).

The Red Seal Endorsement acronym should only be used by journeypersons who have obtained a Red Seal endorsement on their provincial or territorial trade certificate by successfully completing a Red Seal examination. Any individual who makes use of the RSE acronym should have a trade certificate with the Red Seal endorsement available for verification purposes. To confirm that someone has the right to use “RSE”, contact the applicable provincial or territorial apprenticeship authority.

Date modified:

Programme du Sceau rouge

Le Programme du Sceau rouge, auparavant appelé le Programme des normes interprovinciales Sceau rouge, est un programme qui établit des normes communes pour évaluer les compétences des gens de métier au Canada. L’industrie joue un rôle important dans l’élaboration d’une norme nationale pour chaque métier. Le Programme du Sceau rouge est un partenariat entre les provinces et les territoires, qui sont responsables de la formation en apprentissage et de la reconnaissance professionnelle dans leurs régions respectives, et le gouvernement fédéral.

Les gens de métier qui ont réussi l’examen du Sceau rouge obtiennent une mention Sceau rouge sur leur certificat d’aptitude professionnelle provincial ou territorial. Le Sceau rouge, lorsqu’apposé sur un certificat d’aptitude professionnelle provincial ou territorial, indique que les gens de métier ont démontré qu’ils possédaient les connaissances requises par la norme nationale dans ce métier. La mention Sceau rouge est un gage d’excellence auprès des employeurs, elle suscite la fierté des travailleurs qualifiés et elle facilite la mobilité de la main-d’œuvre. La reconnaissance professionnelle et la mention Sceau rouge des gens de métier peuvent être confirmées auprès de l’autorité provinciale ou territoriale en matière d’apprentissage qui a émis le Sceau rouge.

Le Programme du Sceau rouge a été créé à la suite de la première Conférence nationale sur l’apprentissage professionnel et industriel, tenue à Ottawa en 1952. Les participants ont alors recommandé que les provinces et les territoires demandent au gouvernement fédéral de collaborer avec leurs comités et leurs fonctionnaires chargés de l’apprentissage pour élaborer des normes pour les métiers spécialisés.

Qui administre le Programme?

Les provinces et les territoires sont responsables de la formation en apprentissage et de la reconnaissance professionnelle dans leurs régions respectives, y compris de l’administration du Programme du Sceau rouge dans leurs régions respectives (par exemple, en ce qui concerne les examens du Sceau rouge). La plupart des provinces et des territoires utilisent l’examen du Sceau rouge comme examen final pour la reconnaissance professionnelle dans les métiers désignés Sceau rouge. Le Conseil canadien des directeurs de l’apprentissage (CCDA) assume la responsabilité du Programme du Sceau rouge. Des représentants de toutes les provinces, de tous les territoires ainsi que du gouvernement fédéral font partie du CCDA.

Emploi et Développement social Canada (EDSC) finance le Secrétariat du Sceau rouge pour offrir un soutien stratégique et administratif au CCDA et au personnel du Programme du Sceau rouge.

Pour obtenir une liste des métiers Sceau rouge, cliquez ici.

Acronyme de la mention Sceau rouge (MSR)

En 2015, le Conseil canadien des directeurs de l’apprentissage (CCDA) a annoncé la reconnaissance officielle de l’acronyme MSR pour la mention Sceau rouge destiné aux compagnons qualifiés dans des métiers spécialisés.

Le CCDA croit qu’un acronyme officiellement reconnu pour les professionnels dans les métiers spécialisés permet aux travailleurs qualifiés de montrer facilement qu’ils ont réussi l’examen du Sceau rouge dans leur métier, et du même coup, de promouvoir le Programme du Sceau rouge. L’acronyme MSR est utilisé par les compagnons qui ont obtenu une mention Sceau rouge sur leur certificat d’aptitude professionnelle provincial ou territorial. Toute personne qui détient une mention Sceau rouge en vigueur peut utiliser l’acronyme MSR sur ses cartes professionnelles et dans sa signature (p. ex., Jean Untel ou Jeanne Unetelle, MSR).

L’acronyme MSR ne doit être utilisé que par les compagnons qui ont obtenu une mention Sceau rouge sur leur certificat d’aptitude professionnelle provincial ou territorial après avoir réussi l’examen du Sceau rouge. Toute personne qui utilise l’acronyme MSR devrait, par conséquent, être en mesure de présenter un certificat d’aptitude professionnelle portant la mention Sceau rouge aux fins de vérification. Afin de confirmer qu’une personne a le droit d’utiliser l’acronyme MSR, communiquez avec l’autorité provinciale ou territoriale en matière d’apprentissage appropriée.

Date de modification :